We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this place still in business?! ”
Review of OTZ Food - CLOSED

OTZ Food
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Living in port Douglas for a number of years, otz was our local and closest cafe, unfortunately even though we would of loved to of made this place our regular (being it so close to home) we were treated with complete disrespect and pure rudeness by an older woman with glasses that seemed to always be accompanied by another woman with red hair (owners?!) how people like them think they can even open an establishment blow me away, they have clearly no hospitality experience, have no people skills and no personal/food hygiene! On several occasions, by even walking in she looked at us as if to say why are you here?! And while ordering continued to cough, splutter,
sneeze and blow her nose while handling our sandwiches (which were always stale and overpriced by the way). On one occasion I asked her to wash her hands after coughing into them to which her reaction was shocked and confused. We only went in three occasions in two years but it could of been our favourite cafe with plenty of visits. There loss. People like these owners need a huge reality check. If you want port Douglas locals advise, shut it down and have a career changed.

Date of visit: September 2015
3  Thank Chefbrydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2015

Convenient to our hotel. Good coffee. Outdoor seating preferred. No prices on cakes and muffins, slices etc. Lost a sale from me there. Waited ages to be served at counter with four staff members behind counter all talking. Not impressed.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank lelba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Visited twice for coffee and once for a sweet treat. Coffee was okay the first time and much better the second time. We had the Lindt dark chocolate rocky road which was absolutely delicious and thoroughly enjoyed. Good place to visit if you don't want to have to go into the main drag.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Rer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Went twice. Shop comes across very inviting and the food displayed looks mouth watering. Lunch was good, maybe a bit pricey.

However, the patisserie was a huge disappointment. We chose two cakes and both didn't taste fresh.

Also, the older lady running the store was not very friendly or warm, which I found disappointing.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank Travelbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

The breakfast at Otz is actually pretty good. It's tasty, the portion sizes aren't bad and it's reasonably priced.

HOWEVER.... their dinner menu is well overpriced. Not just a little - a LOT. Cafe Otz charges prices for dinner that you'd expect to pay in a much nicer venue. $30 for meatballs and pasta is insane - even if the pasta is house made. Similarly, barramundi with rice is $34 - again, it's a lovely piece of fish and well cooked, but that's almost eye fillet territory.

And their coffee... $4 for a short black is just crazy. Even by Sydney standards. Where Otz falls over is that their $4 short black isn't worth it. It's a $2.50 short black. Maybe.

In summary - if they can reign in their dinner prices, and charge reasonable prices for reasonable coffee, then I'd maybe rate them better than average.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OTZ Food also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.