We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left Early, Couldn't Stand It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I didn't want to have to write this review but I am going to be nothing but truthful. Our party of six did not enjoy our stay at the Mediterranean and ended up cutting our stay short and booking elsewhere. While the owners mean well, the place was well below our expectations and was not at all value for money. There were just too many negative things about this place which I will mention briefly:
- The kitchen had a huge spiderweb in the corner with two huge dragonflies stuck in it
- The shower had many small hairs left from previous occupants
- Kitchen amenities were poor, no plastic cups or salad bowls etc, yet there is a strict 'no glass' rule in the pool/entertaining area
- Pool is way too small to share with other guests, only about 4 sunloungers. There was also someone's used bandaid floating around in there at one point.
- Garbage bins in the pool area have a bad smell, make you not want to eat anywhere near them
- Indoor chairs and couches are wicker and extremely uncomfortable, we ended up bringing the outdoor furniture inside
- Couch in two bedroom unit was way too small for our family of four
- WIFI which is at an extra cost is garbage. Very slow and kept dropping out
- We don't watch much TV but one between 4 people is not enough. Expected a second in the main bedroom.
- Definitely not 400 metres from beach access like we were told. My GPS watch says it was more like 850 metres.
- And finally the worst thing about this place and the main reason we left: the beds feel like you're sleeping on a wooden plank. We all had sore backs, hips, and shoulders as well as poor sleeps (which soon changed at our new accommodation)
Would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. Even if they cleaned it up and replaced the mattresses, there is many other options in the area at similar prices more worth your business.

Room Tip: Somewhere else is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank ashleee480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Looks lovely from the outside, although it was hard to find with the sign being obscured by foliage. The room smelt musty, every time we came back into the unit you could smell it. The shower taps were hard to turn and the shower was weak. The bed was awful! Hard, with no give at all. Unit really needed a very thorough clean. WiFi! Yup only $10, if you can get on! Couches too little to stretch out on. Pool area best thing about the place.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Highly recommend The Mediterranean.
The room was airy, spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and very stylish. Big TV and a comfy couch to chill out on. Pool was clean, always gets a lot of sun for lazing about if you don't want to go to the beach.

We were checked in by Mick, the owner. He gave us heaps of tips about good places to go for our first stay in Port Douglas. Recommended a couple of great places to grab a beer and a bite to eat (which did turn out to be fantastic) and was really helpful and friendly. He arranged transport back to Cairns airport for us with no trouble. We had a fantastic stay here and when we come back to PD we'll definitely be staying at the Mediterranean again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We highly recommend staying at this beautiful, huge, penthouse appartment! The service of the lovely owners Mick and his wife Chris were exceptional. Down to the little touches like Mike carrying our bags upstairs to the beautiful flowers left from the lovely Chris, these touches really made our stay special.
This appartment really makes you go WOW and for an amazing price. 5 bedrooms all with really comfortable beds, 3 bathroom (one of those absolutely stunning) a very clean massive lounge room, dining, kitchen and billards room that the photos do not do justice. This was perfect for our large group. Really easy to get into town only costing $3 for a courtesy bus directly in front of the hotel, walking distance to beaches and delicious restaurants.
I couldnt recommend it high enough we had a wonderful time staying here and would stay here again in a heart beat! Thank you Mike and Chris for your warm welcome and making our stay carefree and relaxing, we loved this place and Port Douglas

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Shanny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We stayed a night at the Mediterranean Hotel in Port Douglas just over a week ago and the stay was pretty good. The location is perfect, close to everything in town and the oceanfront, short walk to the marina, town centre and lots of great dining options. The rooms were clean, quiet, very affordable and it was nice to have the option to do our own cooking (not that we did but it was nice to have it), the on-site amenities were excellent, the pool area was very nice and the tropical gardens were very well taken care of. No complaints from us from our stay, it was an excellent place to stay for a night, we would recommend it to others and we will be back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank JGDynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.9 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
1.4 km away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 42 in Port Douglas
277 reviews
2 km away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#34 of 42 in Port Douglas
66 reviews
1.5 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
741 reviews
1.9 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#13 of 42 in Port Douglas
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mediterranean - Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mediterranean - Port Douglas

Address: 9 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: €68 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mediterranean - Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mediterranean - Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Suites The Mediterranean Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing