We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
573
115
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
115
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchengreat locationthe main streetcar hirefew minutes walkroom was largeperfect place to staywalking distance to everythingbbq areafree wifishops and restaurantspool areacomfortable beda lovely stayhome away from homewould definitely stay here againundercover parking
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

What a delight to find accommodation of this type in a motel. I don't recall staying in a nicer well located and equipped motel anywhere. The hosts are very friendly and willing to assist any way they can. There is an old time feeling to the units a 60,s era with a very modern touch. WELl DONE.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank douglas i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Public Relations Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello douglas i,
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to publish your TA review of our property. We love the old time retro feel as do all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Port Douglas.
Kind Regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

The room were clean, and bright with all amenities needed. Didn't used the pool but there were plenty of stayers that did. Shop, cafes, restaurants and beaches were within 5 minutes walking. Berine (Host) was excellent, friendly and helpful. They don't have cars to rent as per their wbsite but Berine put us onto Fiona at Paradise Wheels who was amazing. This motel suited us perfectly for our stay. Many thanks Berine and staff for the excellent service. We'll be back at some stage.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter from main road
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davidchisnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Hello davidchisnall,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Port Douglas Motel and taking the time to post such an encouraging review. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Port Douglas.
Kind Regards Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

I keep coming back to this wonderful motel for the location, the staff and the amazing value! Everything I need is within a five minute walk - from 4 mile beach to Maccossan St shops and restaurants to the Marina. A bright, clean attractive room, a pretty little pool and a shared outdoor kitchen BBQ area - it’s not a resort - and that’s suits me perfectly. I’ll be back next year :)

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Front Office Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello Jenny,
Thank you so much for your lovely review about our wonderful motel, location and staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience for future guests.
I enjoyed the chats we had and loved hearing about what you have been up to in the last year - one very busy, interesting lady!
Look very much to next year's catch up and remember to bring that lovely ukulele!
Take care,
Jenny, Bernie and everyone here at the Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Went for a weekend of fishing but the weather conditions were awful. Thankfully the motel staff & everyone I met in Port Douglas were very friendly & helpful.The highlight of my trip was being at Paddy's pub for a great afternoon & night watching the Rugby League State of Origin where the smoking area allowed you to still watch & hear the big screen.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gazzahadley1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Front Office Manager at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello Gazzahadley1959,
Sorry Port Douglas didn't bring on the good weather for you but it sounds as though you enjoyed our friendly staff and the locals!
Yes Paddy's is a favourite and a great place to enjoy watching the world go by!!
Hopefully you will come back sometime and get that fishing in under blue skies and sunshine!
Thank you for taking the time to give us review on Tripadvisor - very much appreciated.

The Port Douglas Motel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Look no further than the Port Douglas motel! It ticked all our boxes, and we're a bit fussy! Rooms were spotless, larger than most with a little kitchenette, a couch and plenty of space. Overlooking the pool there is the cleanest and best equipped communal space we'd ever seen, which meant we saved a lot of money dining out. The location is perfect, 5 mins walk to the shops, 10 mins to the beach etc. Our host, Bernie was amazing. He was so friendly, helpful and proactive in providing maps and telling us in advance about road detours for the marathon so we didn't miss our plane. He recommended day tours, massage therapist, offered us beach towels and DVDs to loan, and even sorted my mobile phone storage issues. Thanks so much Bernie, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaniLB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portdouglasmotel, Owner at Port Douglas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

DaniLB13 - thank you so much for your fantastic, detailed 5 bubble review of us and our facilities here at the Motel! We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and what we have to offer as well as the location! We all enjoy the interaction with have with our guests and love to help when we can!! Very happy to read I made your stay an enjoyable one!
Look forward to welcoming you back again some time in the future!

Bernie and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews