We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular food! ”
Review of Chapter One

Chapter One
Ranked #64 of 133 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: US$53 - US$78
Description: Chapter One Restaurant and Bar is nestled in the tropical oasis of Niramaya Villas in Port Douglas, Queensland. Drawing inspiration from different concepts and ideas, expect to experience a thought-provoking menu paying homage to both traditional and contemporary cookery, by using cutting edge culinary techniques to set those ideas apart. Everything in the kitchen is made from scratch and the produce is hand selected to achieve the best results for each dish. The menu is designed around smaller plates to enable you to create your own tasting menu of sorts. The timber and glass construction of the restaurant creates a space that reflects modern Balinese architecture. It’s positioning capitalises on the beautiful views of the surrounding gardens and pool and offers guests the option of indoor or outdoor seating. While the contemporary menu is refined, the setting is informal and guests are encouraged to join us in comfort.
Restaurant details
Description: Chapter One Restaurant and Bar is nestled in the tropical oasis of Niramaya Villas in Port Douglas, Queensland. Drawing inspiration from different concepts and ideas, expect to experience a thought-provoking menu paying homage to both traditional and contemporary cookery, by using cutting edge culinary techniques to set those ideas apart. Everything in the kitchen is made from scratch and the produce is hand selected to achieve the best results for each dish. The menu is designed around smaller plates to enable you to create your own tasting menu of sorts. The timber and glass construction of the restaurant creates a space that reflects modern Balinese architecture. It’s positioning capitalises on the beautiful views of the surrounding gardens and pool and offers guests the option of indoor or outdoor seating. While the contemporary menu is refined, the setting is informal and guests are encouraged to join us in comfort.
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Wow! 5 stars! What a very special restaurant! Forget the burger and pasta places this is an outstanding fine dining restaurant with exceptional service from the moment you walk down the stairs. The owners run the restaurant and give personal service. This restaurant would be successful in any capital city so to find such quality food is a great discovery in Port Douglas. Just a few minutes drive from the Macrossan Street and easy access via shuttle bus. I had dinner and booked again the next night to try other things on the menu and they were great too.

Thank 4958greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W, Manager at Chapter One, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear 4958greg

Thank you so so much for your absolutely wonderful review. We are so glad to hear that everything was to the highest standard in all possible aspect and great to her you came back for a second try!
See you again very soon we hope for lunch.

Kind regards

Claire Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2018

If you want a true fine dining experience in Port Douglas then here is the restaurant for you. Probably the best meal we have had in our 4 years living in Port Douglas.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank geoffmorris850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W, Public Relations Manager at Chapter One, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Dear Geoff

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to seeing you back at Chapter One very soon.

Kind regards

Claire Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

17 of us descended on Chapter 1 for dinner on a balmy Friday night in late April and we were blown away by the quality of the food and service we received. The set menu was prepared beautifully with the souveed (? spelling) beef a standout. The accompanying salads and veges were wonderful. Desserts to die for. Most guests were from interstate but we live in Cairns so we will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timtom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W, Public Relations Manager at Chapter One, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Dear Timtom57

Thank you so much for visiting Chapter One and for taking the time to right such an amazing review! Our Sous vide dishes are always immensely popular and absolutely delicious - very glad you enjoyed it as well as the sides.

Look forward to seeing you back in the restaurant in the future.

Kind regards

Claire Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Lovely location. Great bar area. Food wine good although our group thought the meal was expensive for what we were served.

Thank sshiel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W, Public Relations Manager at Chapter One, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Dear Sshiel

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. Hope to see you back at the restaurant in the future.

Kind regards

Claire Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

The resort is out of the main Port Douglas drag. So I suppose you would call it a destination restaurant, even though it’s only 5 minutes drive from Macrossan St. We started off with a Mai Tai cocktail. The quality was up there with the best. Fresh pineapple juice, mixed by Dash. Good stuff.

The restaurant produced two dishes for us consisting of a lobster special and Cape Grim rib. Relatively small serves but quality was exceptional and serving size was fine, leaving room for equally nice deserts.

A beautiful Bali styled environment and excellent service.

Maybe not that well known a destination for visitors staying in central Port Douglas - but highly recommended for a great dining experience. No wonder it has been given a Chefs Hat distinction. So much better than the rated restaurants in Port Douglas.

1  Thank JCM-ME2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dash B, Manager at Chapter One, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thank you for the kind words.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience, and that my Mai Tai's are up there with the best.

Kindest Regards

Dash Boyce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Chapter One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing