We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location and clean rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Global Backpackers Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Global Backpackers Central
Ranked #71 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at Global Palace over the weekend and was pleasantly surprised. This is the cleanest hostel I have stayed at in my stay in Australia. Wish there was bathrooms in the rooms but everything else made up for it. They told me to go on this one boat passions, so I made booking with the reef trip from the reception and it was my favorite day yet. Definitely will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    34
    34
    20
    32
See reviews for
1
28
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I stayed in t he hostel for 4 nights had a room with 4 beds which was spacious but bathroom was public at the floor. The reception team especially Chelsea was very helpful and nice and really made the stay pleasant. I got their help to arrange my next tours in Australia and my bus ticket to the east coast.

Room Tip: The 4 share room is very nice and not. Expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My partner and I stayed here over the weekend. This backpackers is the worst that I have stayed at. The staff were not helpful and rude. A fire alarm went off at 4AM in the morning!! We got no sleep due to rude and loud people staying 2 doors down harrasing us (staff were very unhelpful with this matter). Was a terrible stay and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Hostel is in good location but thats about all it has going for it!
On arrival, I asked the guy behind the desk for suggestions on things to do around the city and was told that he actually hand't been in Cairns too long and therefore had no information for us!
The first room we were allocated to was awful - really smelly, too many beds in a small room and peoples stuff thrown everywhere! When we asked to change room the guy at the desk tried charging us extra!
The kitchen is awful - only one pot with a handle, no lighters to light the gas cookers and not enough fridge/food storage space.
The $5 meal deals were awful - ended up having to buy food elsewhere after wasting our money!
On checkout I was told we were being 'very demanding' when we asked the same guy to book a taxi.

Overall - terrible service, kitchen was basic, too few toilet&showers and noisy - Don't stay here!

Room Tip: If you are in a large shared dorm - you are miles from the showers, so go in a small room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie_c1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I have stayed in over 10 backpackers in cairns, global ticks all the boxes!! The kitchen is gold, the rooms are big, clean and nice. The air con is a god send, there is a cute pool and there is a balcony for drinking and eating!!! Good banter to be had here!! There is also a good TV area! Also...this hostel is slap-bang outside the Woolshead, what more can you ask for!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefiner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Waterfront
0.3 km away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.2 km away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#34 of 88 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Abbott Hotel
The Abbott Hotel
#2 of 14 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 km away
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
0.4 km away
Reef Backpackers
Reef Backpackers
#11 of 14 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Backpackers Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Backpackers Central

Property: Global Backpackers Central
Address: 9b Shields St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Backpackers Central 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Global Backpackers Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Backpackers Central Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing