We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff and a comfortable apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Ranked #27 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff and a comfortable apartment”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were picked up from Cairns Airport and driven there when we left, which saved us a day on our car rental. We were greeted by name when we went to ask for advice and the advice was extremely useful. You can't beat local knowledge. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The apartment was comfortable, spacious and had everything we needed, including full cooking facilities and a laundry with washing machine and drier. There was a balcony to sit on. We didn't have a beach view or anything special, but with the palm trees and the birds and butterflies it was quite pleasant siting out there. It is about 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive from the city centre and the esplanade, but there are shops and restaurants within 2 minutes walking distance. Cairns is a really good place to base yourself and whether you have a car or not there are lots of places to see within easy drive or coach trip and of course you can take the Kuranda railway or the cable car. We found plenty to occupy us for 2 weeks. This is not luxury accomodation but it was clean and comfortable. There is a pool and it seemed to us that it would a great place for a family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    38
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed only a night in a 1 bedroom unit but was pleasantly surprised but the standard of accommodation for the price. Kitchen was great with an oven and even some glad wrap in the drawer. The ground floor units are a bit dark but I'd go back and stay upstairs if possible. Nice gardens and pool area too. Andy, the manager is great and really helpful. The airport pick up was a bonus and free WiFi fantastic! Only downside is that it's on a bit of a busy street. But if you're looking for quality on a budget stay here.

Room Tip: Go upstairs and away from the roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We enjoyed a 5 night stay at Koala court holiday apartments in November 2010. The hosts are wonderful, from the moment you check in they take the time to show you to your apartment, and nothing is a problem when you need assistance. And they offer free wireless which is awesome!!
The apartments are conveniently located only minutes walk to the beach -and the best fish and chip shop in Cairns also!!! Another bonus is that it is walking distance to the Cock n Bull Pub and restaurant....another great place to dine in Cairns. It is probably a bit far to walk to the city centre, but it is only a short drive to Cairns Central and we liked the fact that it was away from the busy town centre anyway.
The apartments are very clean, spacious and have everything provided in the kitchen that you would need. I would recommend these apartments to anyone that wants the space of a large apartment without paying excessive prices, and we are looking forward to staying again when we are next in Cairns!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel4me23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed at Koala Courts for two nights on our way back to NZ. We had four adults and two teenage children. They were really spacious and clean tidy apartments and well equipped. The owners were really great people who were really helpful. They recommended great places to shop and the Cock & Bull where they suggested we dine what amazing meals they were so huuuge with only one member of the group finishing their whole meal. The also took my in laws out to the airport for us.
I would recommend Koala Courts to anybody. Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeCoalgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We (two adults and two kids, age 19, 22 yrs) stayed at the Koala court before and after a Barrier Reef Sailing trip. Booked a 2 bed apartment both times and the rooms were very comfortable - clean, nice beds, roomy and well-appointed kitchen, and working laundry in the room. The owners were absolutely great and very friendly. Picked us up from the airport, quickly found toaster and other small kitchen appliances that were missing in the room, and gave us the best tips on where to eat around town. The Cock and Bull, just down the street, is an excellent deal with huge, tasty portions. The only (slight) negative is the location - it's is a bit of a walk to the CDB, but easily done in 15 -20 minutes, even in the sun and summer heat and showers. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_nole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 km away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.7 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.3 km away
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#31 of 84 in Cairns
137 reviews
1.0 km away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
0.7 km away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#30 of 84 in Cairns
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Court Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Court Holiday Apartments

Property: Koala Court Holiday Apartments
Address: 147 - 155 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Court Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koala Court Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing