We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
352
246
54
16
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
246
54
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motel offers free shuttle to the airport close to the airport shuttle service minute walk continental breakfast flight path a ground floor room room was spotless kitchen facilities quiet location small kitchen spent nights self catering town centre wonderful stay port douglas
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We were very impressed with our stay at Reef Palms. Its in a lovely quiet spot not far from the esplanade with a lovely 20 minute walk along the boardwalk to the shops and swimming lagoon. There is also a free courtesy bus that will take you into town if need be. We had a upstairs room with two large double comfortable beds overlooking the pool. The room is spacious and clean with a lovely kitchenette with every thing you need. I would recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAL2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

The room has a dingy odor to it. One fan, tv, and phone all did not work. There was no comforter on the bed, but found it in a drawer, and it smelt strong of mildew. Freezer has so much ice build up that you can’t fit anything in there. Cooking utensils were dirty, with the spatula having dried egg still stuck to it. There were also job applications dating back from 2011 in a kitchen drawer, meaning that a thorough cleaning hasn’t been done in atleast that long. The room is spacious, and comfy enough, but I must rate at one star, considering it certainly doesn’t deserve where it’s currently rated.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank markdailymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

It is extremely disappointing to see that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and while of course you should not have to, it is a shame if management weren't notified at the time so that they could have attempted to rectify your concerns where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We stayed for six nights at the end of June and specifically wanted a place with a kitchen or kitchenette so we could cook most nights. The room here had a kitchenette with a microwave and stovetop, sink and fridge and some utensils. Bed was comfortable and room was nice and clean with reasonable space, good bathroom, and a small balcony (though no view of anything interesting). There was free wifi which was good (a little slow but hey, we were on holiday and it wasn't essential!). The service was lovely and the people at the front desk helpful. Liked the fact you could get a rice cooker if you needed it, and they would book you a hire car if you just wanted to do day trips. We had a ground floor room and it was quiet; apparently there isn't a lift for the other floor(s) so be aware of this if you have mobility issues. They also offer a guest laundry which is useful. Short walk to The Esplanade but takes about twenty minutes or so to walk to main part of town. Good value place to stay and recommended.

Room Tip: Be aware that need to climb stairs to get to upper rooms but they would probably have better view from balcony depending on position.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hi Sue, we pride ourselves on our exemplary service & thankyou for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We stayed one night at the Reef Palms upon arrival in Cairns while awaiting family and continuing our trip to Australia. The Reef Palms staff was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. They took time with us to help us get acclimated to the area, and offered suggestions for dining, etc. The room was immaculate and very comfortable, and there is free parking in a protected area off the street. The hotel is in a safe area and within easy walking distance of the Esplanade.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank _mpm4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm glad we made your stay so enjoyable. We are passionate about Cairns and it's surrounds so love providing as much local information as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the Reef Palms during a business trip. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Simple but delicious room service menu for dinner. Great breakfast menu, loved my hot breakfast before a day at the office. My room was clean and very spacious with a balcony, much needed after a long days work and a good dining table (great for work). There are no lifts and a few stairs out the front, I recommend getting a ground floor room if you have heavy luggage. Free wifi and it worked perfectly. My room could have comfortably fit a family of 4. Cheap alternative to the regular expensive 5 star hotels I usually stay at. Taxi fares are very cheap in Cairns as everything is so close.. it made getting to places a lot easier. The staff helped me organise my leisure time and visit some nice spots in between my busy work schedule.
Highly recommend this friendly hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Owner at Reef Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you Mary for your feedback and we look forward to having you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews