We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Getaway On Grafton
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$144
US$128
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$120
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tropic Towers Apartments(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$95
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coral Tree Inn(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$135
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
176
105
34
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
105
34
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom townhousethe kitchen was fully equippedbackpackers hostelhighly recommend this propertyminute walkstay there againbbq areaapartment was cleanwasher and dryerself containedwithin walking distancesecure parkinggreat place to staypool areamuddy's playgroundgreat apartmentafter hours
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Had a short 4 night holiday in Cairns and grabbed a 2 bedroom townhouse here. Staff were super helpful and friendly. Townhouse was spacious and well equipped in many ways- kitchen, laundry and bedrooms. Pool is a shady relief from the Cairns sun. Is about a flat 1km walk (slightly less) from town- easily do-able early or late.... but uber / cab in the heat of the day if you have kids as the walk is too long and hot in the heat. Great spot though. Strongly recommended for self contained accom in Cairns with kids.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Balmainite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Classic example of a property that is not as advertised. Looks decent in ratings but completely different when you walk in. It’s old, dirty, moldy and has a unique odor. The appliances were visibly dirty on the outside. This is far from the expectation of a “four star” property. We politely left and booked a lovely four star room elsewhere and received a call from the property owner. When we explained why we left they promptly hung up on us. DON’T STAY HERE!!!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Alyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Fantastic accomodation just a short walk from the main city centre. We found the area quiet and were not disturbed by any noise from the nearby hostel.

Highly recommended for both couples and families.

The rooms are clean and spacious with all the amenities you need. Me and my partner stayed in the family apartment (townhouse) and were really impressed with every aspect of the place.

The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The manager Kevin, and Aislinn, have a wealth of knowledge about the area and tour operators, and gave superb recommendations for day trips.

The hotel is a pick-up/drop-off
location for most tour operators which is really handy. And it's really easy to catch public transport and get cabs in the area.

We arrived after hours and had no issues letting ourselves in or finding the room. The instructions to get into the complex were all there in the night safe and easy to follow.

The pool and BBQ area give the place a relaxing tropical resort feel. If you stay more than 5 nights your rooms are cleaned and fresh linen is provided during the stay.

I thought it was great value for money and I'd happily stay here again.

5 stars !! :) :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Having stayed at Getaway on Grafton twice before i found it Quite comfortable & not to far from the esplanade ,how ever the furniture such as dining chairs could do with an up date as well worn.Also some new pillows would be a good thing although plenty available they are quite flat ,other all ok

Room Tip: There are steps to top rooms so luggage can be hard as no lifts
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ziggystephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

HI
Thanks for your comment, we have been rolling out an update on furniture, sorry to hear you were in one of the last ones to be done. - thanks for the tip on pillows, some like fat some like thin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

One of the main appeals of this apartment is the well-equipped kitchen for those who prefer to prepare their own meals. Kettle, pans, microwave, cutlery, plates, bowls, toaster and even a rice cooker are available. The apartment is also air-conditioned in each room for the hotter months, along with washer and dryer for longer stays. Beds and pillows are comfortable with clean linen. Gated parking is provided on-site. We stayed for three nights and found that there was enough toiletries and detergent provided to last our stay.

Location is a little out of the centre of the city, which provides some peace (especially at night when everyone returns from the day trips). It's about a 15 minute walk to the centre of the city (and probably 20 minutes to the reef terminal) so if you value convenience or making several trips to and from the city centre throughout the day (especially if it's hot), you may want to reconsider. We drove to the city centre (elderly parents didn't want to walk) and found parking to be difficult to come by especially in the evening.

The desk staff were helpful. The communication prior to the stay was timely and clear so that we knew what to expect in terms of procedures when we arrived and throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Front Office Manager at Getaway On Grafton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks for the feedback, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes a little walking is needed when staying here, but most people are aware and the streets are pretty flat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews