We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was terrible”

Golden Boat Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #217 of 682 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: US$21 - US$357
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated right in the heart of Cairns city, Golden Boat Chinese Restaurant has the elegant mixture of Western and Eastern design dining room, split into two levels by carpeted steps, immersed in soft tranquil classical music and create a harmonious and classic ambience to dine in. Live Seafood daily - Queensland Mud Crab, Australia Abalone, Coral Trout Specialty dishes - Stewed Kangaroo Tail, Emu in Special Sauce, Salt & Pepper Crocodile Meat Yum Cha Lunch daily - All Dim Sum are hand made by our specialty chef. Lots of varieties to choose from. Reasonably priced.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a table of 5 and no one liked the food. Ordered a curry, a stir fry and prawn satay so that we had different types of dishes but all tasted terrible. My 9 yo couldn't even eat the spring rolls.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carsan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica L, Manager at Golden Boat Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to make this review. We understand that our price does not meet with your budget. But you cannot abuse the use of this website just because of this reason. You have cleared out every single dish that you ordered (including the spring roll). When we asked you if everything is ok, your answer is not so good. We have asked you what have happened but you didn't want to tell us. We don't want you to upset but not sure what you are not happy about, so we have offered you free dessert. We are not sure why you still take the effort to make this bad review. If the food was not good, you can tell us in what way we can improve. But we don't think this is true simply because every dish we collected from your table was emptied. So if the food was terrible as you said, how could you eat them all?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2018

The food was nice, more expensive than the takeaway menu we'd looked at.
Service was ok, seated and orders taken quickly, food came quickly.
I'm not sure what was going on but staff didn't look happy and I didn't feel comfortable.
Hopefully this was a one off.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julpat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

The food was not very fresh, they are more interested in turning over the seats quickly then out the door, dont expect a smile from the staff. Defently suited for Chinese tourists in groups.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica L, Manager at Golden Boat Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Hi Michael
Thank you very much for your input. I saw that you are a new member of Tripadvisor. Can you please tell us more information so that we can make changes to better served. When did you dine in our restaurant? And what have actually happened to you so you make this comment? And how much did you spend? Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Nice authentic Cantonese style food similar in quality to restaurants found in larger cities such as Melbourne. Great selection of live seafood as well however somewhat on the pricey side.

Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

What can I say..Service as soon as we arrived was just great.I had steamed dim sims entree they were outstanding maybe the best I have tasted..The main was superb could not fault the whole experience..Definately a return visit..

Thank mick6068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Boat Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Golden Boat Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing