We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubish, Stay away”
Review of Green Island

Green Island
Ranked #21 of 65 things to do in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Waste of time, go to the Red Sea in Egypt if you want to see fish and coral , ask a local if you wish to see the GWB

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Guido W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glass bottom boat"
in 296 reviews
"fish"
in 350 reviews
"day trip"
in 214 reviews
"sea grass"
in 29 reviews
"nice island"
in 18 reviews
"outer reef"
in 101 reviews
"the great barrier reef"
in 129 reviews
"semi submarine"
in 31 reviews
"snorkel gear"
in 26 reviews
"boat ride"
in 38 reviews
"full day tour"
in 27 reviews
"marine life"
in 49 reviews
"swimming pool"
in 23 reviews
"buffet lunch"
in 24 reviews
"stinger suits"
in 18 reviews
"fitzroy island"
in 20 reviews
"turtles"
in 285 reviews
Filter

198 - 202 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the staff to be extremely accommodating. They are genuinely friendly and want you to enjoy your stay. The food was really good in the Restaurant and the Chef really made a terrific effort to cater for our vegetarian diet. The food was of an excellent standard and thoughtfully presented. The accommodation is of a very high standard with a large, comfortable King Bed and a spacious room with a well-appointed bathroom. The Poolside Bar is a great place to get a drink or a coffee. My 'de-constructed' cappuccino presented no problems and I was made to feel at ease there. If you have the time, take a few days to stay over on the Island. I had not been to Green Island since 1976 when I came over on a Day Trip when I was 22. When you stay overnight, you do see a different side, one well worth seeing.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank LyndyLipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The Island it self was Beautiful, but very crowded.
Swimming and snorkelling opportunities were limited and I was clear the many tourists was taking a tow on the reef.

Lunch was surprisingly good though. We had a burger, fish and chips and a Caesar salad at the little huts surrounding the pool and it was all really good.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank sunesenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The island is OK, but not that beautiful. The snorkeling is not great either. OK for a half day trip if time is an issue (only half day), but if there are more time and funds definitely better to go deeper in the reef, the coral and snorkeling/diving is so much better there, not even close

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mrodri2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Green Island is a must.
Amazing views and beach as long as you don’t go in the Stinger season and you can’t go into the sea.
It is very busy and touristy.
If you are looking for a quiet place this is not the place to visit.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Island also viewed

 

Been to Green Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing