We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
62
145
160
130
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
145
160
130
115
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

The days when the hotel was worth talking about was probably in the 80s but it looks like it had no maintenance done since. AC is either freezing level or OFF, same with fridge. I placed a milk bottle overnight in the mini fridge and next morning I had frozen milk for my breakfast! Tap in the bathroom completely loose, TV not working (but fixed the following day) alarm clock not working. Balcony door leads to a 30cm wide ledge only. Would be ok if advertised as a 2* hotel than you know what your getting. on the upside th rooms are large.
I stayed with a group booking of about 15 rooms and they all had similar issues.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berndoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

From the minute we walked in to Reception, the place looked "tired". The receptionist's English was not good and thankfully another guest was able to explain to us how to get in to the car park.
When we walked in to the room, the carpet was old. Then: the bathroom: tiles and grouting on the floor were grotty looking, The shower head was very rusty and the base for the basin to sit in was made of chip board that was badly decomposing from having been wet so often.
Because it was close to the Casino & across the road from a nightclub, very noisy with patrons passing on the street below and loud music from the nightclub. We feel that this property does not meet Rydges standards and needs a total revamp. Certainly not worth $140 a night plus $20 for parking.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mazz1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Clean, good views from our room in the 9th floor. Twin Queens. Efficient air con but a bit loud. Good location with a 2 block walk to the ferries, casino and restaurants. Has a pool that is clean and well maintained. Didn't use their dining rooms as we went out. Helpful staff. I'd recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank annieburns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

great location as it is in the city of Cairns. Right near the esplanade and rustys markets. also great location if heading to cairns for a getaway with friends and intending to eat out and have a night on the town. Good for friends, couples and families. Clean and warm atmosphere. great staff.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank breej86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

This Rydges is showing its age unfortunately, they have tried hard with an update to bathrooms and refresh of the rooms but there's just no covering up it has been around a long time. For the price it is very comfortable and what you would expect. Conveniently located. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews