We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,845)
Filter reviews
2,845 results
Traveller rating
1,268
957
389
140
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,268
957
389
140
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club club room north restaurant horizon room one bedroom suite the great barrier reef tour desk an upgrade pool area is shopping centre fantastic location bit dated reef terminal buffet breakfast balcony canapes concierge
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 2,845 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Rooms were pretty good, view was lovely. Restaurant downstairs was great (pricey but delicious) and location is fantastic - within walking distance of everything. Parking is a slight issue - there's a shopping centre car park across the road which is probably your best option but expensive.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Mindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Mindy P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience. Customer feedback is very important to us and we have noted your comments for discussion. We are delighted to hear that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards,
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Located on the water at Cairns is a very good start and after slight delays at check-in, we were offered a bottle of wine for the delays - geez, was 5 minutes and we were not bothered, however was a nice touch and appreciated that the delays were recognized.

Our room was in the recently updated area and had a small balcony overlooking the boats. Everything was adequate - clean, neat, functional, comfortable beds and working A/C.

There is a large pool, well group of pools for all travelers with towels and food/drinks delivered if needed.

Every staff member I spoke to was knowledgeable and helpful. Planning to get away at a particular time, spoke to the parking attendant before breakfast to ensure that we would allow time for the collection of our car and when we came back about an hour later, he had brought our car up and it was waiting at the front door - Simple thing to do, yet unexpected and appreciated.

Great location as there are many restaurants out the waterfront and a number of pubs all easy walking distance. Really is a good location to base families or couples for a Cairns holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Le0nieS2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Le0nieS2016,
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience and your fantastic review. We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards,
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Room we stayed at was gorgeous with a Marina view. There is a sofa on th balcony, where you can feel the breeze coming from Maria bay. And what I loved was morning buffet with 100% fruits juices and excellent coffee espresso choices. There was no complaints about this hotel. We were more than 100% satisfied. Concierge was so helpful to organize f scuba diving tour, horse riding tour, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Massa D,
I really appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel and thank you very much for taking the time to share your Shangri-La experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards,
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

We were upgraded to a beautiful corner room that had a great view of the city and marina. The hotel itself is quite large and is a little tired, however it was clean and suited our needs whilst we were in Cairns. We stayed for two nights and would be happy to stay again. We ate breakfast at the adjoining breakfast and felt it was value for money. We had a car with us, the staff couldn't have made it easier to park and retrieve. All staff were delightful to deal with and provided excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Vanessa K,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

My family stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June 2018. The hotel is in a lovely location by the marina and the bar/ restaurant is lovely at night. The rooms themselves are tired and do not live up to the 5 star rating the resort prides itself for. The bathroom specifically has cracks on the walls, the vanity was black with almost white paint like marks all over it looking dirty and no luxurious. The shower too was cracked and the door didn't shut properly. The pillows were lumpy and we needed to ask for more to stack them on top of each other to get a semi decent sleep. They tried to enforce a fee for the mini bar on our check out of $30 when we NEVER even touched the items. Perhaps the cleaning staff should do their job and properly clean and restock a room before the next guests arrive.
The tour desk man was not very helpful, he did not speak English well and seemed like he didn't even know the tours he was trying to sell. Upon check in no general information or maps of cairns and how to get around were given which was disappointing.
Nobody even swam in the pool our entire stay. The water was absolutely freezing which was such a shame as it looks beautiful especially as advertised by the hotel on the internet.
Overall the stay was average and I wouldn't be necessarily excited to come back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Stosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicODonnell, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Stosw,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologise that we did not meet you expectation and your stay wasn’t as enjoyable we hoped it would be. Customer feedback is crucial to our business at all levels and your observations have been shared at our morning operations briefing. We appreciate your comments and can only hope that you will consider returning again in the future.
Thanks again.
Best Regards,
Nic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews