We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$362
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut(Cairns)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$109
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Oasis Backpackers(Cairns)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gecko's Backpackers(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
US$307
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,901)
Filter reviews
1,901 results
Traveller rating
699
780
278
98
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
780
278
98
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcourthouse hotelone bedroom apartmentcity viewlagoon poolhotel roomreef terminalnight marketgood sizefree wifiroom servicewashing machine and dryerreception staffwould stay here againcentral locationfull kitchenshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,585 - 1,590 of 1,901 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at the Mantra esplanade for 8 nights in November 2012. We had an excellent holiday. The two bedroom apartment was great, clean and had a kitchen and laundry as well. The hotel was close to everything - reef terminal 2 mins walk, woolworths in the street behind and plenty of shops and cafes within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our apartment on the 6th floor had lovely views over the esplanade and lagoon area. Would definately book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the esplanade.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyliejoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Where do i start! My husband and i stayed at Mantra this month for 5 days for our 1st wedding anniversary. Instantly upon checking in we not only had to pay the entire $650 for our stay but were also slugged an extra $100 hold on our credit card for 'expenditures.' A bit insulting but ok i thought, this must be for the mini bar.

As soon as we were on our floor (5th) we noticed a very strong and disgusting curry stench, this was persistent throughout our stay. Our room was also very foul smelling and i was very annoyed to see no mini bar. No water no ice, nothing. What expenditures was the deposit for? In case myself and my ragging husband trashed the room?
The bath tub had long black hairs in it and the general cleanliness of the room was appalling. If we wanted extra towel we had to pay for them and i assume the in room safe was also an extra cost. The room service menu did not include breakfast and the few basic items listed were outrageously expensive - $6.50 for a can of Coke!

One night the smoke alarm went off for a very long time. It was obvious that the receptionist had no clue and couldn't turn it off. She just continued to make stuttered announcements over the intercom and panicked. I am positive we all would have burned if the fire was genuine!

The biggest beefs we had with our stay was the extremely long walk from the elevator to our room and that we were situated next to the garage chute. We were woken up at 6-7am EVERY morning of our stay to the sound of smashing glass down a metal chute. Even after complaining nothing was done so we didn't get one sleep-in on our well overdue holiday. We also couldn't sit on our balcony or have the balcony door open due to the neighbours aircon fan being on constantly. If we sat outside we had a constant gail of hot air blowing on us from someone else's stale room. A balcony is a really stupid place to put an aircon unit exhaust.

Overall i feel our stay in Cairns was ruined because of the hotel we chose to stay in. I feel especially disappointed and let down after previously working for this hotel group. The level of service, the attitude of the staff and the entire hotel in general was bad. Certainly not deserving of a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraesp, General Manager at Mantra Esplanade Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear 19mandy,

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues and felt that the issues were not satisfactorily dealt with.

I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards
Gaye Coughlan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a 5 week trip from the UK to Australia
including stopovers in Hong Kong and Tokyo,during October and November.
We took a taxi from the airport which cost $25,and took around 15mins
Stayed for 4 nights, in a large 'ocean view' room with balcony
The hotel as others have commented is an aparthotel, so no maid service unless you pay extra
Large room and outdoor balcony overlooking the green and the public pool on oneside and reef terminal on the other
Room decent size and good shower.Large comfortable bed.
We bought breakfast supplies from large Woolworths supermarket 5mins from hotel,.
All the facilities you would want on a long trip, e.g. ironing board
Hotel staff pleasant at reception, check in and out swift.
Hotel very close to reef terminal and many cafes and restaurants for the evening.
less than 5mins walk to Reef terminal and about 10mins from Perth Railway station where we caught our Karunda train.
We booked our Green Island Reef tour and Karunda/Skyrail trips at the 'official' Tourist information office which is almost next door to the hotel towards the reef terminal, we received lots of advice on all the different tour companies and options
We had good meals at Outback Jacks, and Dundees down by the reef terminal
There's a good walk along the Boardwalk Esplanade, the hotel pool is small but very pleasant to relax

Room Tip: Ocean view room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We were first time visitors to Cairns and you cannot get a better location than this hotel. Its right in the thick of things.
We had an ocean view 1 bed apt and the room was spacious. With full kichenette and a great balcony for people-watching on the Esplanade.
It is right across from the Esplanade lagoon and there is an awesome pub directly behind the hotel called the Courthouse. Woolies is just round the corner or there are hundreds of cafes and restaurants to choose from.
Get a room higher than 4th floor and you will have a better view of the (brown) water over the trees.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou_Mess14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary & Christmas trip in December 2011. Centrally located, modern & clean rooms, awesome views of the beach. Easy walk to the restaurant strip and main centre of Cairns. Would definitely stay here again when we're next in Cairns

Room Tip: Anything facing the beach is great, but the pool view is just as good, because you get both pool and beach view!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabbotage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews