We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Apartment accomodation”
Review of 181 The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
181 The Esplanade
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable Apartment accomodation”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed at 181 The Esplanade from 20th of November to 29th November 2011, We had a 2 bedroom apartnt which was very comfortable and clean unfortunately the Cairns Base Hospital expansion construction site is next door and from Monday through to Saturday it was imposible to sleep in past 7.00am as the machinery starting up ensured that you were wide awake just after 7.00am. 181 The Esplanade will be a great place to stay for families who want to do their own cooking in the wel lappointed kitchen in the apartment. There is also a very nice pool and spa in the complex pust secure free parking.
We would certainly return to stay at 181 The Esplanade once the construction of the hospital extension is completed.

Room Tip: Before booking ring and check if there is a room available on the side of the complex away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wmcanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    52
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
63
35
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here as 2 couples. 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms were excellent. Very large kitchen, dining, lounge areas and 2 balconies all facing the esplanade and the sea. Very well appointed with all you require for a relaxing and enjoyable stay.Whilst situated at the very northern end of the esplanade still within comfortable walking distance of Cairns city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam255112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Stayed for two nights. Had the feeling that the apartments may be individually owned and rented out through a common management. This might explain why some reviews report that units vary somewhat in appearance and setup. They look like they were built in the 1980's. The two-bedroom apartment we rented was spacious and equipped with a washer and dryer. The unit was fairly clean, although by no means spotless (old chewing gum on the tile floor, etc.). Upon arrival we did find small ants all over the place (it is a tropical location and they do warn you about this), so keep any food you bring in tightly sealed. The management staff was friendly and helpful. Internet is available, but not free. The pool was good. It is located away from the town center, about a 15 minute walk along the shoreline. Since this was our first visit to Cairns I do not have much to compare it to, but after staying there my sense is that there may be better options.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Having planned the trip of a life time, one month away in South Africa, Aus - (camper from Sydney to Cairns, then flying south again) before going to the states. I booked the flights hotels etc way in advance. I asked the hotel if they would receive our tickets for the F1 Grand Prix - Yes no problem. Jo was fantastic so so helpful. They let us put the bags in the room(s) prior to dropping off the camper. Put a couple of beers in the fridge for us. Booked our day trips etc etc. the service is fantastic. The room(s) exceeded our expectations by a long way. Views great. Close enough to where you want to be. Just what we needed after 2 weeks in a van. Met Jack to again very helpful. J&A UK

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skirlaugh near Hull
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Looking for a hotel with "apartment type" facilities, we stumbled upon this excellent place on the sea front at Cairns. Our apartment had 2 bedrooms, one with en-suite with large circular whirlpool bath. The bedroom had a large TV and a balcony with a sea view. The lounge/kitchen was fully equipped and very comfortable. It also had a balcony with a sea views. There was a laundry room which even incuded soap for the washer. Parking was in an underground private garage. The Owner/Manager was very helpful, and even booked a trip for us to Karunda. For about £100 a night it would be hard to find anywhere comparable, and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skirlaughtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.4 km away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#44 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
0.6 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
1.2 km away
Cairns Aquarius
Cairns Aquarius
#26 of 64 in Cairns
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 181 The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 181 The Esplanade

Property: 181 The Esplanade
Address: 181 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — 181 The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your 181 The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
181 The Esplanade Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing