We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay and fantastic staff!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Darwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay and fantastic staff!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I visited my friends in Port Douglas and also decided to stay in Cairns for 2 nights. I made my reservation with Discovery via Expedia. they has the best, most affordable rates. Wendy handled my call enquiry and she was great. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed and assisted by Martin. He is the best hotelier I have ever met. Aside from the usual check in procedure, he gave suggestons as to where we should go, gave directions and a very handy map. He is so nice to have a chat with.We were pleasantly surprised because we arrived a bit earlier than the check in time but the room was ready and we were allowed to check in right away. the room was clean and the car park was just outside our room which was even better. the hotel is very close to the places of interest whether by car or if one wants to go for a walk. Being in the hotel industry myself, I highly recommend Discovoery Cairns. Thumbs up to Martin!....you are the the best and if ever I will go back to Cairns for another holiday, I will surely stay at Discovery.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you so much for you kind words; it's always appreciated to get some positive feedback and we appreciate the time you've taken to lodge your comments. Yes we love Martin too, he's a gem and we certainly look forward to looking after you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    91
    64
    9
    14
See reviews for
29
107
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We booked a virgin flight/hotel package. Discovery Cairns was a very pleasant surprise. The superior room, overlooking the pool, was a good size and was clean and well maintained. The staff were helpful. We had no noise problems. We are not fast walkers and it took us less than 15 minutes to walk to the centre of the City via the very pleasant Esplanade. If you want a good clean hotel to sleep in while you spend the bulk of your days being active out of the hotel then this hotel is ideal. If you want to sit by a pool drinking cocktails go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakartaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 13 November 2015
Hi jakartaboy

Thankyou for your review on our part of the world and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

On arrival the door man "Martin" was very welcoming and really helped us out on trips etc, the room was basic clean and tidy, we stayed here for 5days and 2 of those days the room was not cleaned fully and the bed was not mad correct also the towels were not given, but ask at reception and Wendy was more than welcome to get us some! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickFitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your review. I will certainly discuss with housekeeping your situation and apologize if your service was missed for whatever reason. It is lovely to hear that despite your hiccup with housekeeping, you would stay with us again. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tully, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

again a last minute decision to go away, again they found us a room, great rate, easy checkin, awesome staff. had 2 nights of comfort and peace. Rooms aren't 5 star for mod cons and decor, but clean, definitely, hair dryer, t.v, basics such as tea/coffee/biscuts etc all supplied.
bed comfy, room spacious, pools great, two visits to this place and no problems either time, nice change.
Great location, great people.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank townsvillemiss65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your review. While we get verbal compliments each day, it is always nice when one is posted and gives us all a buzz. Great having you stay with us and cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We arrived excited to be in Cairns and immediately checked out of hotel. Bed as like cardboard with springs, stains on the bedspread, room seemed overall worn. Not at all what we were expecting!! We checked out and found a better hotel. The staff was not very friendy. We went through our travel agent to get our money back and no go, instead they changed the story and refused a refund. Not a good experience with this hotel at all!

Room Tip: Maybe a good hotel for a quick overnight stay but wouldnt recommend for vacationers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lv2Trvl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather-in-accounts, Operations Coordinator at Comfort Inn Cairns City, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your review. It is disappointing that you did not state your dissatisfaction with the room to our receptionist when they asked you – in a very friendly manner - if there was a problem; this would have given us the chance to rectify the situation and discuss it with you. When you stated that you had simply changed your mind to stay closer to the beach, all we can do is assume that this actually was the reason you checked out. Had you advised us that you were unhappy with the room, a full refund would have been provided to you as per the correspondence with your Travel Agent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.4 km away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cairns City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cairns City

Property: Comfort Inn Cairns City
Address: 183 - 185 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Discovery Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Cairns City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated, Comfort Inn Cairns City is ideally located two and a half blocks from the City Centre, one block from the Cairns waterfront and easy walking distance to the famous Cairns Esplanade swimming lagoon and all reef and island terminals and approximately eighty meters from Cairns Private Hospital. 3.5 star hotel with tropical contemporary design, 53 rooms, recently refurbished including new beds, flat screen TV's, refrigerators, tea and coffee making facilities, fully air-conditioned, free WiFi, 2 swimming pools, tour desk, guest laundry and free off street parking. You will also find an array of restaurants to delight the taste buds and boardwalks with views of the Cairns inlet and Marina well worth a selfie or two. All this conveniently located within minutes of the Cairns Domestic and International Airport. Our friendly staff are also on hand to offer tour and activity advice for your Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest adventures. We aim to fulfil your ideal holiday expectations and experiences during your Tropical North Queensland stay with us. All tour operators offer pick up services from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Cairns City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cairns Hotel Cairns
Discovery Hotel Cairns
Cairns Discovery Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing