We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
10
27
24
14
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
27
24
14
19
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel only because every other hotel in Cairns was booked out. This was the last hotel available. We arrived with low expectations only to be pleasantly surprised. The rooms were large, freshly painted and spotlessly clean. Good quality linen, pillows and towels. Everything worked well and the location was quiet except for the inevitable aircraft noise you get everywhere in Cairns. Some fittings were showing their age with chips and scratches but overall this was a minor issue. Normally we stay around the marina area in $300 rooms. This hotel was $120 per night. It is about 3km from the marina area but even with a couple of $10 taxi rides per day, it is exceptional value. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterB3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Nothing fancy, just comfortable, clean and well-priced motel. One block back from the esplanade walk, 20 min walk to the marina, a couple of blocks from the hospital. We found it well positioned for our needs, enjoyed the walks each morning to the town centre for tours or shopping. Pool was clean and well maintained, traffic noise was low, bed was comfy, air conditioner and ceiling fan in room coped well with weather.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

If you are looking for a cheap clean but very basic 1970 style motel very close to the Cairns Hospital then this would suit. Our room was missing a few working lights and management looked at this straight away when informed. The motel is located within easy walking distance to Cairns Esplanade and about a 20 minute walk in to the main City centre.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We have recently relocated to Cairns, and when we first arrived we needed a 'no-fuss, budget place' to stay for 8 nights while we looked for a suitable apartment to lease.
We chose the Tropical Queenslander and it met all our needs. It might not be 5 star, but the service was excellent, our room was clean and regularly serviced, our bed was extremely comfortable and its location made it easy for us to explore the Cairns region. The room rate was low and I'm sure that this would appeal to budget-minded couples and families.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artkleko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Loved it here. Great value and includes breakfast. Rooms are nice and clean and reception staff are very helpful. Close to airport and city. Would defiantly recommend. Only suggestion is that the add hair conditioner! My family and I will be back!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Honorei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews