We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want something different and aurthentic.”

The Bama Way Aboriginal Journeys
Ranked #90 of 130 Outdoor Activities in Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bama Way is a partnership between Adventure North Australia and three Aboriginal-owned and operated tours, north of Cairns, Tropical North Queensland. Experience the Bama Way, a journey of contrasts and surprises, with changing languages, cultures, people and landscapes in Tropical North Queensland. The word "Bama" is widely used by Aboriginal people through the region and means 'person' regardless of nationality or race. Spend time with the traditional custodians of the land who know its resources, its stories and its sacred places. 'Bama' [prounounced 'Bumma'] is a term used by Aborigines in the region, meaning 'person', regardless of nationality or race. Choose of the many 1-3 day tour options available from Cairns or Port Douglas or you can self drive to each of the Aboriginal owned-operated tours
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Want something different and aurthentic.”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Had the pleasure of embarking on this journey with a mixed group of Indigenous tourism operators from WA and a bunch of whitefellas. Adventure North is the tour operator and uses its 4wd busses to link a number of small Indigenous tourism ventures between Cairns and Cooktown. You need to be adventurous and reasonably mobile but age is not an issue. Dont be put off by the trek thru the mangroves in search of shellfish and crabs, the fresh seafood morning tea afterwards more than makes up for it. After a drive thru the Daintee you come out of the rainforest at Wugal Wugal and visit the nearby falls and laer a bit about the local culture, It then on to Cooktown to meet up with Willie Gordon a local elder who loves to show off his country.

Thanks Maryanne for putting this together and to Brandon, The Walker sisters and Willie for allowing us whitefellas to see some of your country thru your eyes.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank bradley_griffin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really AMAZING”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We took the Amazing Bama Way discovery tour departing from Port Douglas. Including ourselves there were 6 participants. Our guide was Marc, a very friendly and enthousiastic person. He knows a lot about the environment en is really excited about every part of nature.
The three days were good composed, the meals were good.
We took the resort option but we would not recommed that. The time spend in the resort is to short to enjoy the extra cost.

We would really recommend this tour to everyone! The trips are suitable for a large range of ages (we are 26, the oldest participant was 70!). It's a unique way to learn the aboriginal way of living. Even not that interested in aboriginals (like we are) it's still amazing: you go to places and see and learn things that you can't see by your own.

Frederik & Delphine - Belgium

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryanne J, Owner at The Bama Way Aboriginal Journeys, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for the review, the reason I called the tour Amazing Bama Way is because as you said "AMAZING". Each day as you experienced offers a different aspect to Aboriginal culture in our region of Tropical North Queensland, which in itself also offers such diverse and beautiful scenery.

I recently went hunting myself with the Walker brothers and as always enjoyed so much looking for bush tucker, especially in the mangroves.

Thank you for Walking together with us on the Bama Way Aboriginal Journeys.
Regards Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An educative and exciting hands-on experience of everyday aborigine life”
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Brandon Walker, an aboriginal hunter of the Kubirri Warra clan, took us on a walking tour of beautiful Cooya Beach and its mangrove forests, north of Port Douglas. He is a man who hunts every day for his people and his knowledge of local flora and fauna is exhaustive and full of surprises. He taught us how to throw a spear for hunting, how to forage for molluscs and he gave us an exhaustive guide to the trees and the uses of their plants. These included trees not only with antiseptic and medicinal properties, but thirst-quenching and hunger-sating ones too; even the notorious "burny" bean, a conker-like nut, popular amongst school kids for when it is rubbed briskly on the ground it heats up ferociously and inflicts a brief stinging burn! Brandon finished the tour by catching a sting ray. We retired to his house where we ate a delicious lunch - the produce of our hunt and forage and home-made damper. All in all an educative and fun morning with a wise and warm guide who as well as following the ways of his ancestors has his feet and his sense of humour planted firmly in the 21st century.

Helpful?
1 Thank OliveCoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No show”
Reviewed 6 September 2008

This firm conducts Aboriginal beach, mudflat and mangrove walks at Cooya Beach just north of Port Douglas. We confirmed via email correspondence our meeting them at Cooya Beach. We were early for the meeting time and waited, went to both ends of the beach, confirmed our location with a local person, and then waited some more. No one showed up more than an hour and a half past the appointed time. An email to this firm asking what happened and offering to try again was not answered. This was a big disappointment given the authentic and participant nature of this tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank NYRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairnslocal4, Owner at The Bama Way Aboriginal Journeys, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
It!s unfortunate that this happened however KukuYalanji have now been operating for 7 years and I work with them on a daily basis and this is not something we experience. My company Adventure North operate a tour with them called Daintree Dreaming and we are proud to be associated with this wonderful Aboriginal Cultural experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bama Way Aboriginal Journeys also viewed

 

Been to The Bama Way Aboriginal Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing