We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value teppanyaki in town! ”

Golden Wood Teppanyaki
Ranked #603 of 5,211 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Have been 3 times now and will highly recommend to anyone! Byo with a bottle shop next door, prices that are 30% less than most teppanyaki places I have been to, it is a fun and friendly place for the whole family. Generous portions and each time we have been there is usually some extras thrown in as well. Staff have been amazing and I just can't rate this place highly enough.

It is a very unassuming looking place (looks a little dingy) but over look that and give it a chance for the best teppanyaki in town :)

Forth one saying the floor isn't clean - Ummm you realise at teppanyaki they THROW food at you? It is part of the experience!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank AussieVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Not to be recommended. The floor was incredibly slippery and the tables were dirty. THe walls were dirty. The cabbage dish was greasy and the salad was drowned in vinegar dressing. The chef at the teppinyaki bar really seemed to enjoy banging his spatula on the grill plate repeatedly. We won't be back.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 63AnitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

What an experience it was to attend Golden Wood Teppanyaki at Newmarket for my friend's 50th birthday. We left the restaurant 2 hours later with full tummies and sore sides from laughing so much. The food was cooked in front of us with much flare and talent. The showmanship of our chef and his hilarious reparte was amazing! He involved all 9 of us totally and obviously mentally evaluated the ability of the age differences (15 to 70) to cope with catching different foods in either a bowl or the mouth! What an amazing experience! The food was diverse flavoursome and perfectly cooked. Just don't wear white!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank JanelleWensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Golden wood teppanyaki was a fun experience in local suburbs. It's not top of the range teppanyaki, but the chefs tried their best and were joking and interacting with us all the whole time. The food was yummy, but it could definately do with a better aircon system in summer heat.
We used a Groupon voucher and it was good value at that price.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traceyw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

... thoroughly enjoyed our night out here at Golden Wood Teppanyaki. We used a Groupon voucher which proved to be lots of fun with some delicious food. We started with Miso soup (which personally I thoroughly enjoyed) - then we had small amounts of chicken, beef, fish, some prawns, fried rice and ice cream - Mr *Handsome was entertaining and the food was delicious.
It's BYO with a corkage charge but we all settled for Ginger Beers - staff were polite and kept busy cleaning up after the Cook's antics.
I'd definitely go back and hope to take my family in the near future!
Thanks for a fun night . . . .

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeapingLizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Wood Teppanyaki also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Golden Wood Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing