We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OK for what you get.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brisbane Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brisbane Manor Hotel
Ranked #58 of 65 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK for what you get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed at the Brisbane Manor for just under a week. Overall we found it comfortable, although it lacked some mod cons. We booked an en-suite room, which was adequate, albeit the decor was circa the 1970s and the walls thin, so every noise from outside could be heard. Initially, we had been given a room that faced the side of building car park. However, due to our neighbours noisy air-con unit, we were moved to a similar, yet better room, with a balcony, over looking the self serve BBQ and kitchen area.

The premises were clean although, we did encounter a roach or two. The staff were quick to spray the room and apologise. We did hear reports of bed bugs, thankfully though, we did not suffer from them in either of the rooms we stayed in. I did however, suffer with bad sleep for the entire stay, whether this was me or the vibe of the place I'm not sure.

Both rooms had a fridge, with tea and coffee replenished daily, plentiful hot water and a TV. The channel selection was little poor, only 5 to choose from. Below, in the belly of the building you found a fully functional kitchen with all the utensils and condiments needed to cook a decent meal. There was also a self serve laundromat. However, it was a little expensive for a 30 minute wash. The front of the building had decking with two public areas, one side fitted with a large LCD and Austar/Foxtel. The other with vending machines for the late night munchies. Again, the cost of the vended food was a little over the top, but it seemed everything in Australia is expensive nowadays.

Location wise, you are a few blocks away from Fortitude Valley central, and about 30 minutes walk away from Brisbane central.

As far as up market hostels go, this one was fine. It could do with a modern makeover and white linen. What is it with Australians and floral bedding/coloured towels? I would recommend to the more rough and ready type traveller and not my more upmarket colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandomGeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    48
    34
    20
    33
See reviews for
11
42
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

In general it is a very good budget option. We stayed there for 4 nights in a double room with ensuite. It was convenient and clean. The hotel has a very nice decor and there's a guest kitchen. Staff was extremelly helpful and friendly.
There were only two negative things. First - our room was right above the kitchen, so it became really noisy whenever anyone turned the kitchen fan on. However, the hotel policy is not to use kitchen after 9 pm, so we still had an undisturbed night sleep. The second is location - it is in an area with many night clubs and adult shops, plus next to a Chinatown. The city centre is approx 40 minutes walk, thought you can catch a bus just around a corner.

Room Tip: Take the one with ensuite and not number 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anya_Ukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Attention anyone looking for accomodation if they are coming to catch a gig at The Tivoli... you could not get closer! Myself and a friend saw a fantastic band then walked around the corner to this fantastic old federation style Queenslander. There we sat on the front deck amongst the potted ferns on a warm summers night for one last cool drink and a packet of chips from it's coin machines. Our room looked like it was built as part of a 1970's motel extension to the back of the old building. It was spotless with air-con, fridge, ensuite. Despite being in The Valley the location is very quiet...(although we did stay on a Monday night). The Manor is not aiming for the high end luxury market but nor does it consider budget accomodation to be roughing-it backpacker territory. On site parking included too! Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bossquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Never stayed in a hostel like this before, it really feels like coming home. Very quiet, stayed in a 4-person-dorm but I had the room for my own for all the nights, and that for only 20 dollars! Very friendly staff, especially Ian the caretaker. Did not plan to stay in Brisbane for a week but the hostel made me change my mind. Nice clean rooms with a linnen, towel and soaps on your bed, which hosteldorms offer you that? Takes a fair walk to the city but it keeps you busy and it's a good work-out... :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backpacker045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

It was almost like the driver of the taxi had arrived off a plane as he had no idea where it was - hint: tell the driver that it is next to the Heart Foundation. He eventually found the hotel which was closed after hours however the night officer opened up for me.

The room was an adequate size with towels and sheets. Television for you to get dressed to and a reasonable sized terrace to take in the Queensland weather.

Communal showers and toilets - very clean and tidy.

On sight shop, outside terrace and laundry facilities - reasonable.

Short pleasant walk to Fortitude Valley Train Station - and Ann Street - internet/bars/gay venues/restaurants/bus links into the city.

The reception staff were very pleasant and friendly - Sharon called up Jucy Rentals to confirm their location and save me a wrong journey. Left luggage service - ideal.

A little gem in a fast growing city - thanks

I am back there in a few days.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WELSHYPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.4 km away
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
#96 of 166 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 km away
Snooze Inn
Snooze Inn
#117 of 166 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gregory Terrace Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Eton Bed & Breakfast
Eton Bed & Breakfast
#45 of 65 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.3 km away
Ellie's Guesthouse
Ellie's Guesthouse
#24 of 65 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.4 km away
Annie's Shandon Inn
Annie's Shandon Inn
#8 of 65 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Manor Hotel

Property: Brisbane Manor Hotel
Address: 555 Gregory Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia (Formerly Tourist Guest House)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Brisbane Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Brisbane Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing