We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Bento Box Lunches”

San Kai Modern Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #359 of 5,493 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2016

San Kai had been recommended to us for their Bento boxes. Not only are they huge, but you can expand them with various options. And, a scoop of green tea ice cream comes with it to conclude your feast. The Bento boxes will not disappoint. Come hungry. We enjoyed a glass of white wine with our lunch, so it is licensed.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2016

We ordered six items, of which four arrived almost immediately but the other two didn't arrive for 40 minutes, so two of us watched the others eat then we ate while the other two watched us. It really shouldn't take 40 minutes to whip up a serving of teriyaki beef on rice and a katsudon, and it was frustrating to watch guests who had arrived and ordered after us get served 20 minutes before we were. The gyoza and calamari were okay but the unagi on the unadon ($28) was rubbery, making that dish poor value at $28. When it finally arrived, the teriyaki beef ($18) was fine and the (chicken) katsudon ($16) was very good. The staff were nice but of course had no control over what appeared to be a certain level of disorganization in the kitchen.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank korm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Stopped in late on a Tuesday night & staff were very accommodating in allowing us to grab a table when they were finishing up for the night. The food was excellent & the environs very pleasant. Really enjoyed the night & finished off with a walk along Southbank.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ChiefCrowLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We dropped in for an early dinner before a QPAC show. We tried a bit of everything and had some great food, we particularly liked the sashimi and the tempura. Would definitely return again.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank angoowah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Lunching with friends at Southbank is always pleasant, but it's often hard to make a choice given the number of restaurants. However dining at San Kai is a case where the the venue and menu came to the rescue. Seating is either internal or close to footpath (but with a clear blind to lessen winds/noise). Service is friendly and was well timed to our needs.We tried the tempura, teppanyaki and sushi with our most popular choice being sukiyaki. All dishes were nicely cooked and beautifully presented. The delicate flavours and aromas were appreciated as was the good service. A reasonable wine list is available having a selection of Japanese sake,beers, local wines, teas and other beverages. Although satisfied with the main course, some of us could squeeze in a scoop or two of ice cream with the usual unusual flavours tried including green tea and squid ink. A true Japanese delight and worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 581ians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Kai Modern Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to San Kai Modern Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing