We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great food and service that needed work.”
Review of Bucci

Bucci
Ranked #59 of 5,047 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$55
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We put food in the middle to start with and it was all sublime, the burratta, crumbed olives, calamari, caprese salad,etc. My pasta carbonara was wonderful and light, indeed light years beyond the gluey and cream based monstrosities from most other local venues. Everyone loved their food and the wine list was really good. Shared potato and carrots were spot on as well. Staff members were friendly but the service was really uncoordinated and you had to get up to find someone at every step of the meal, no drink orders for 20 minutes, then no menus for 20 minutes, the wait person would ask who would like to taste the wine and then pour a glass for everyone else except that individual and walk off. You get the picture, you didn't feel cared for. Questions of the menu were shrugged off at one stage with the response that it was the waiters first night. All of this was very pleasantly stated just inattentive. Other than the lack of attention from staff this was really good modern Italian food in a really great environment which sadly made the poor service a disservice to both the chefs and the diners.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiOz10, Owner at Bucci, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hello RossY415 and thank you for your constructive comments. It was great to hear that you all enjoyed your food as our chefs work hard so every guest has a delicious meal. However, we were upset to hear that our service was not as professional as it is normally, and our new staff are having extra training. We always want our customers to leave after enjoying a great night out and this didn't happen for you this time. We do apologise and hope you will come again and experience faultless service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

From arrival to departure we had excellent service from Alexia, she was efficient and friendly without being intrusive. We were a party of 10 professional women out for our annual Christmas lunch and none of us were disappointed with the food, from the olives and arancini for starters to crab linguine and barramundi. There was a stand out which I was not expecting and that was the bruschetta of the day, it had an eggplant base but I would love to know what else was in it. Also excellent cocktails and Italian wines.
My only criticism is the noise level because of the hard surfaces, but this is common in restaurants these days. However the 5 star rating from me is rare.........I'm a teacher and always think there is room for improvement!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenys51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiOz10, Owner at Bucci, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Hello Glenys51_12, We loved your wonderful review and are so happy you all had such an enjoyable lunch. We've passed your kind words onto our team who always appreciate customer feedback. Thank you from all of us and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Unbelievable staff, the chefs were superb and the setting was sensational. Was treated to a birthday cake from the staff. I’ve been all over Italy three times and this restaurant was as authentic as they come
Thanks DMARIO for a great night.

Pork belly and arancinni balls. You beaut!

Thank Aysar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiOz10, Owner at Bucci, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Thank you Aysar C for your super review, we were all thrilled to read that your evening exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Went with family on a very busy Saturday night without a booking. Waited in bar for less than 20 minutes then sat in a street Solis table. Superb service from the front of House and waiting staff who looked after us. Beautiful food. Highly recommended - but next time I’d book... it would be a shame to miss out.

Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiOz10, Owner at Bucci, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you Steve C for your great review. Bucci on a Saturday night really pumps, especially In the lead up to Christmas, and you are right - it is better to book! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed dining with us and will be looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Having just returned from a wonderful trip to Italy and dining with family for a birthday celebration and choosing wines and food typical of the areas we had visited was fabulous. Thank you Bucci

Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiOz10, Owner at Bucci, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

It is always wonderful to read a review like yours Judith G and we were so pleased that you could extend your Italian experience a little longer at Bucci! You might like to know we have a special well priced “Vacation Series” lunch specialising in a region of Italy every month, with a new menu every two weeks. If you send your email details to the restaurant you will receive a message when we change the menu - so - come holiday with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bucci also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Bucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing