We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service, a gem!”
Review of C'est bon

C'est bon
Ranked #116 of 4,369 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$59
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service, a gem!”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This place is a gem. It's a little hole in the wall but well worth a try. Food was authentic French, with melt in your mouth steak. Decent serving sizes and reasonably priced. Wine was divine, lots of choice from the cellar. Service was fantastic, not too little or too much. Highly recommend you try it, but be sure to reserve as they are not surprisingly very busy! Treat yourself :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jb2010jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    59
    20
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Thank you Cest Bon!!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My birthday is on Christmas Eve and for many, many years we have been left totally disappointed when we've gone out to dinner but this year was an exception! In past years we have arrived at restaurants to find the menu has been reduced to three or four meals or a set menu because the kitchen will be closing for a few days. This even happened when we dined in Paris last year so it’s not unique to Australia....but not at Cest Bon!!!
As promised when we made our booking the full an extensive menu was available and our group of 5 really struggled to decide what to have because everything on the menu sounded so wonderful. The wine list is also outstanding and we loved the French wine we selected. When our entree's arrived they were fabulous and the two highlights were the scallops and the crab - we truly enjoyed them (even though they could have been a bit warmer).
The main meals were absolutely fantastic. I had the pumpkin gnocchi and it was the best I have tasted. Another outstanding dish was the rack of lamb which was said to be the best lamb my son had ever tasted. The duck cassolet was also outstanding but be warned...it is for the hungry and hearty eater. The most unfortunate thing was that we were all too full to have desert and given that 3 of the 5 people are traditionally "desert people" this said something for the quality and quantity of the food.
The previous positive reviews of this restaurant are all true and everyone at our table spoke of what they would have when they returned (particuarly to have a desert). The service was attentive and professional and we all agreed that we cannot wait to go back and we have all recommended this restaurant to anyone who will listen!
We just loved it… thank you Cest Bon for a memorable evening!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jmkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing - lived up to all the reviews and we will be back again”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We loved this place

went for my partners 30th birthday and after spending a couple of weeks in paris last year we had high expectations.

Food was amazing - the mains & desserts were huge though

Tip - the digustation menue for entree and dessert was awesome but the dessert one would easily feed 4

Helpful?
3 Thank loopooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good but would not return.”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We had hoped this would be a memorable night but in all honesty, it was not a stand out. The food was quite good (loved the goats cheese entree) but the service left a lot to be desired. Not once did someone offer us another drink. My husband is a non drinker but was still ordering other beverages and myself, a few glasses of wine. Once our first drinks were served, we were invisible. They did have a function upstairs but I don't think there is any excuse when you are paying good money. I had to flag down someone each time, yet there were staff constantly passing our table. The owner was lovely. She introduced herself just before we left. Also, if you have not been before, a table at the side is advisable. We were in the middle aisle and being such a small restaurant and both of us being very tall, did not make for a comfortable night. We had a laugh about that because crossing my legs would have tripped a waiter for certain.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank viewhunter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top notch nosh and service”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We had a lovely evening at this quirky little French restaurant. I booked thinking it was on Little Stanley Street but it was actually on grotty Stanley Street neat the hospital. Went for pre dinner drinks in the grotty Brewhouse pub a few doors down. The home brew was delicious and the staff were superb. A bit of a dump though. On to dinner. The place was small but comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We started with three starters between two. Snails. French onion soup and scallops. All perfect. Mains were coq ou vin and duck orange. We are too full to finish yet alone sample the nice looking desserts. Had a lovely night. A bit pricey but well worth it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David_UKandOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C'est bon also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to C'est bon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing