We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Chill Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chill Backpackers
Ranked #115 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Chill Backpackers is one of my favourite hostels, not just because of the free parking, the great view from the rooftops (yes more than one) and the really good wifi (even tho you have to pay for it), but also because you meet a lot of great people there.
The hostel is very clean, the people who work there are fantastic and you can be sure that you will never be bored.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

This place is great value, clean & friendly. It is really well located in the city centre close to the Suncorp stadium. My double room was nice & clean as were all the facilities. Free parking awesome!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Danesarebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks... have a girl (liv i think) doing social nights.. best was the bbq on saturday nights on the terrace with amazing views of the city and you can bring your own beer in. Everything gets cleaned 2 times every day... reception staff friendly and helpful! !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank 10,016,728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

The location is great and 2 terraces unreal to catch up with mates but unfortunately that's where it stopped. The keys continuously failed to work in the doors meaning we required staff assistance after reception had closed.
The lift also shuts down for the night which is fine, stairs never hurt anyone but again the keys failed to work in the doors to exit the stairwell.

Perhaps the worst experience were the toilets and shower area. They were nothing short of puttid. There was always water on the floor, there was one toilet that was blocked and filled to the brim with the remnants of someone's last meal. That was in that state for the whole 4 nights we were there.

The outdoor areas and location saved the hotel from a far worse review

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Trent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

This hostel and the big bird hostel (yellow building) are run by the same people. This is the worst hostel I have stayed in since travelling from Darwin down the east coast. Its dirty, people sit around smoking drugs all day and night and are still up partying at 3am while you try and sleep in your van right next to them!! We called the reception number twice on the first night we stayed here and someone came down asked them to be less noisy and cut the music off but half an hour later it was back on. On the second night we had residents kicking a ball against our van at midnight. When I reported all of this to reception they didn't even offer an apology. Rather go and stay in a caravan park or park up and stay in a room in another hostel where you will get a good nights sleep. We paid $39 a night for a powered site but got no sleep and the facilities in the hostel arent worth the money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 km away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#77 of 143 in Brisbane
113 reviews
0.1 km away
Big Bird Backpackers
Big Bird Backpackers
#123 of 143 in Brisbane
24 reviews
16.9 km away
Manly Harbour Backpackers
Manly Harbour Backpackers
#102 of 143 in Brisbane
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Somewheretostay Backpackers
Somewheretostay Backpackers
#97 of 143 in Brisbane
8 reviews
0.2 km away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#16 of 143 in Brisbane
618 reviews
2.1 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#35 of 143 in Brisbane
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chill Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chill Backpackers

Address: 328 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: €14 - €42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chill Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chill Backpackers Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing