We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
102
198
117
43
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
198
117
43
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf clubgolf coursesmall kitchenetterecommend this resortcooking facilitiesself containedswimming poolair contown centrewithin walking distancebbq areaplace to stayfree wifisingle bedquiet locationcrowne plazabeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Desert Palms. Good quality, clean and roomy unit. Kitchenette was a bit disappointing with no built in stove top. Fridge was only bar fridge size. Queen size bed was very comfortable. Small breakfast table with 2 chairs. Ensuite was reasonable size with large shower and lots of hot water. Car parking was convenient right in front of the unit. The property seemed secure. The laundry had only 2 washing machines and dryers which seemed small compared to the number of units but we had no trouble getting access. Overall, given the price, it was good value accommodation

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LindsayMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for your nice review, It was good to read you found us good value. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Booked in for a week. On arrival staff were so amazing I had a problem with my room n the young lady was so obliging With my needs. It was clean n bed was so comfortable room moderatel but had a very pleasant stay. We would return

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maryanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to read our young receptionist was so obliging with your needs. We look forward to you returning. Regards Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

One of the reception staff is ridiculously unfriendly, like the most unfriendly person I’ve encountered. Me even asking her if it was too early to check in seemed to be an issue. Lets not even talk about asking to make a local phone call while waiting to check in. The rooms are cute from the outside, but have a cold looking and cold interior. Pool area comfy. Taking a day trip to Uluru was the best part of the stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Sandy,
Thank you for your review. It certainly concerned me reading your encountered with one of our receptionist as this is certainly not what we like to hear. We do pride ourselves on our personal cheerful service that we like to offer our guests to make their stay special. Please be assured we have taken your review seriously and it is being followed up. Regards Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We stayed here two days, one night before and one night after a trip to Uluru.
The first impression when turning in the drive way is positive. Everything looks neat and tidy. Unfortunately our room was not ready when we arrived at 11.30am. Fortunately we could put our luggage in a small office / storage room next to the reception. The lady at the reception was very helpful and explained to us how we could get to the center of Alice Springs. That was quite a walk. She assured us that at 2 pm our room would certainly be available. When we returned from our city walk, it turned out that this was indeed the case.
Opposite the reception, where also a limited assortment of groceries is sold, you will find the swimming pool. It is not a big pool, but nicely laid out with an island in the middle, a bridge, running water, palm trees and it is very clean.
You can park your car in front of every villa. It isn’t so that Desert Palms is in a unsafe neighborhood, but at night the gate closes. That gives an extra safe feeling.
We had a simple double villa. On the front side you have a veranda with two chairs. In the room you will find a double bed, a single bed, a kitchenette with fridge, a hot plate and microwave and the necessary kitchen utensils. Not everything is assorted, but that is not dramatic. Furthermore, there are two chairs, a table and a few stools. The desk / cabinet combination is apparently put together by a local amateur joiner who has not used the most durable material.
The narrow bathroom is separated from the room by a sliding door. In the bathroom there is a toilet, sink and shower. The bathroom could use an upgrade. The tiles of the shower are slippery and the shower curtain cannot prevent the rest of the bathroom from getting wet.
In fact, the whole interior of the villa should be renovated. A more modern design, new curtains and better insulation so that the air conditioning does not have to constantly work overtime, a better placed and illuminated on / off button for the lighting and a new bathroom and Desert Palms is up-to-date.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janssens10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

The swimming pool looks good and the Desert Sands are well placed with regard to venues for evening meals.
This was a good place to stay but it is feeling its age. The rooms are fairly basic and could well do with an upgrade.
The laundry room is well used and the machines do a great job.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelairTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews