We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
40
81
63
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
81
63
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbbq areamacdonnell rangespool areafree wifiayers rockcasinoalicemolded
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for one night following the cancellation of my flight by Qantas. The property needs a major overhaul as it is very tired and worn. The staff on the other hand were outstanding and despite being extremely busy went out of our there way to assist me.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank ContentedTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review. Our apologies for the confusion that is being caused by our current renovations and the fact that your room was one that still needed an overhaul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Rolled in Alice Springs late on Thursday night before the long weekend with no idea that the town was overflowing with the Finke race competitors and enthusiasts and not a room to spare anywhere, in any type of facility - our own fault, but people were kind and phoned around for us and Cudos go out to Courtney, relieving in reception, who was able to offer us a room here for the night at least , at a reasonable rate, on the understanding we had to find something else for the weekend.
With nothing doing and beginning to think we were on the move out of town, delightful Courtney had continued to work for us ( thank you so much Courtney) and when a late cancellation came in for a bigger room she was immediately on the phone and it was offered to us at a much increased rate, but we were more than happy to accept as we had commitments over that weekend in the town. Nicole and John spoke to us next day as the relief managers and throughout our stay were wonderful hosts , the cleaning staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble for them either - generally, the majority of staff were friendly and very welcoming. The grounds were kept beautifully and the pool area at the rear beneath the beautiful McDonnell Ranges in immaculate condition.
So, the overused unsprung mattress on the bed we just put up with, the moulded bathroom unit worked so didn’t trouble us too much, just very small and was surprising given the room rate, we overlooked the stains on the floor and the damaged curtains and the general tiredness of the room as the bed linen and towels were very clean and we were just so glad to have found something. However, the restaurant has apparently not been open for sometime, and breakfast pretty much a non event, which for such a large capacity motel was surprising to say the least, particularly on such a huge weekend. Am sure that the Juicy Rump Bistro across the way next to the rubbed their hands in glee with the influx of visitors from Alice in the Territory for dinner.
Then, on our last night, our toilet completely stopped functioning after reception had closed for the night. We filled the plastic waste bin with water to ensure the loo was flushed when used . However, when I tried to report it on check out, the unfamiliar woman on reception was too busy on the phone, barely took any notice when handing in our keys other than to say, “ok, you’re all good to go” and when I said I had something to report barely listened and replied “ oh, sorry bout that we will get someone to look at it “ .
Accordingly, after paying a rather huge amount of money to this motel over a period of six nights we were not happy with such a “non response” and felt that management should have been immediately advised and could have at least offered a partial refund of monies spent .
After all that, we did love Alice Springs, had said goodbye to the lovely relief managers evening before as they headed to a new location and we hope to visit Alice Springs again next year, and would love to see some love and funds put into this pretty unique building by its owners to bring it up to grade , refresh the rooms and bathrooms and , perhaps, engage a reliable breakfast cook to provide for the very many rooms available and make good use of the lovely restaurant space which at present is just closed off.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emcebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your review. With Finke being such a busy weekend and and ourselves being booked out for months in advance, we were glad to assist with accommodation. Our restaurant has been closed for a number of months due to renovations. We apologise for the way you were dismissed as Reception and will certainly be looking into the points that you have raised,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The rooms and beds are old, the bathrooms are old. Breakfast leaves you wanting. This should really be a $A99/night hotel until they do it up. Breakfast was minimal. Cooked food was ok but slow. The bread left out for breakfast was so hard it didn’t need to be toasted. Considering lasseters is only $6-10 more and far more modern this place needs to reinvest, or cut its pricing. It is convenient to the conference centre, about a 400m walk otherwise a car is required. It is well out of town. The internet worked generally though can be a little sketchy.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Matt_kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woywoy123, Manager at Alice in the Territory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We apologise that your experience wasn't to the standard we aim for. We have taken your comments on board & will be addressing them as we want all our guests to have an enjoyable experience while staying at Alice in the Territory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

I had an overnight stay between flights and found tge rooms to be acceptable but needing a freshen up. Staff were helpful at desk but didnt seem to know anything about bar or breakfast. I was told restaurant was closed but bar was open yet there was no one there to serve drinks at 6pm. Breakfast was a very poor affair with no staff to take any orders (yet they seemed to find it ok to make themselves an expresso coffee while guests only had instant on offer). The milk was starting to turn, the coffee cups were all stained and the bread stale. I wasnt after 5 star but my stay felt more like a "help yourself" hostel rather than a motel.

There is certainly room for improvement however appart from that the beds were comfortable and the rooms relatively quite.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for your review. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a quality & enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Hotel consists of well equipped rooms, quite large swimming pool area and it's not far from centre of Alice Springs. In the morning a cheeky kangaroo came almost to my room and was begging for something to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woywoy123, Owner at Alice in the Territory, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the well equipped rooms, the resort style swimming pool area, the proximity to the town centre and the kangaroo that occassionally visits. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Alice Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews