We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
30
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old homestead station stay moment you arrive macdonnell ranges other guests two nights sophie bj ruby gen cottage lookout gap homestay gorge bunkhouse outback
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

This special property is run by a family of long-term Territorians who know what friendly, old-fashioned hospitality is. The accommodation buildings are beautifully furnished - you’ll feel very much at home. The location is brilliant and they offer good traditional meals in a comfortable environment.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank RickM921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale River H, Owner at Hale River Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you Rick for your review, simply put but so inspiring because that is exactly the atmosphere we are trying to create at our home Hale River Homestead. It is always a pleasure to share our home in the beautiful East Macs with our guests.
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

From the moment you arrive the breathtaking scenery transports you into a whole new world .The accomondation is of high quality and we were lucky enough to stay in the old homestead which is full of old world charm with that glam touch .
The food is all good old fashioned real food and you certainly never go hungry.
The grounds are amuclate and everywhere you go there are special little touches that makes this place a true gem.
From the unique container pool to the various places you can sit with a good book ,there is a place for everyone to just chill out with a good book or a glass of red.

We have stayed in many places here in Australia and overseas but once being here this place certainly is up there amongst the best.

Lyn,Sophie,Sean &BJ make you feel welcome and part of the family.

Highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to experience a touch of the real outback.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale River H, Owner at Hale River Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you Sue for your lovely review. You and your party certainly felt like family from the moment you arrived! To read your comments about the Homestead was fantastic because that is exactly the feel we try to create for our guests...... a unique outback experience with our family in the spectacular Mac Donnell Ranges. We hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Stayed there for a night and it was fantastic. Location is great and facilities are excellent. Dinner was great and friendly staff. Ruby Gap and Arlthunga mines are close by. Worth a visit. Will visit again.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bipin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale River H, Owner at Hale River Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thanks bipin. We look forward to your return visit.
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Did a private day tour with Sandrifter (highly recommend ), stopped at Hale River Homestead for lunch. Met the owners, had a personal tour around by the owners and a great old yarn, super lunch, the facilities are wonderful, accomodation from a house, to bunk rooms, to large room and camping. Outback themed bar, pool with an amazing view, etc. never new this existed or would have been staying for a few or many days otherwise, so don't miss the chance we did. Country comfort and hospitality.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank cjen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale River H, Owner at Hale River Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thanks for the lovely description of our property. Great to hear that you would have liked to stay longer. Next time.....
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Took a day trip from Alice Springs with Mark from Sandrifter Safaris - what a beautiful Homestead - owners are very welcoming and showed us around the homestead - served a lovely homemade lunch and swam in the beautiful mineral pool - Would highly recommend a visit and would love to stay at the Homesteaad

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank judyadrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale River H, Owner at Hale River Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you Judy for your recommendation and kind words. Glad you enjoyed your few hours at the Hale River Homestead, it was our pleasure showing you around our home in the East Macs.
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews