We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
2
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I were on the way to Ayers Rock from Alice Springs when, after 120Km into the trip, the road was blocked by a big accident.

It was already late in the afternoon, and it would have been impossible for us to reach our destination before dusk, and the rental cars in that area are not insured after dusk because of the dangerous wildlife presence on the road at night.

We then decided to turn back and return to Alice Springs and retry the next morning.

On the way back, we needed a bathroom and it is when we decided to stop at the Stuarts Well Roadhouse, which is situated on the Stuart highway, 90Km south of Alice Springs.
The place looks surreal. At first it looks like just a rural gas station, but it is, in fact, a roadhouse with rooms and diner/restaurant.
The guy who run the place is very friendly and the food they serve is simple and hearty.

We liked the place so much that we stopped also the next day, on the second attempt to go to Ayers Rock, for breakfast and get gas, and on the way back, a day later, for gas and a quick snack.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stopped on the way from the Rock to Alice for a flight early the next morning. Lovely grounds with lots of accommodation options; shared (fours), budget, (private double or twin, no en suite) cabins (en suite) plus camping and powered and unpowered sites. Really good food in the bar (English chef was on his second shift!) and reasonably priced drinks. Amazing looking pool and jacuzzi (too cold to try unfortunately) Very welcoming staff, with a new owner (two months) who seems to have the right idea about the place's future; lick of paint and a face lift here and there, but keep the raw, rural, friendly Outback feel. Stop off if you can!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We called in to Stuart's Well to fuel up, and we had a quick look at the rear where the caravans park, I like to check places, in case we are passing again, as last year we drove straight past.
It looked so inviting, that we decided to stay. It is very shaded under the trees, and you can leave your vehicle hooked up, as most vans park side by side facing the same direction. The site has a great atmosphere, and we felt quite secure, it is a great place to leave the caravan, and visit the Rainbow Valley, you can pay to have a powered site, or leave the van in the free section, while you tour around. Jim is quite a character, and Dinky, is a real star.....
Would always stay here if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We intended driving from Alice to Uluru via the Larapinta but due to heavy rain and flooding we had to take the more dispiriting tarmac route. Pretty boring!!

HOWEVER, we needed to stop a couple of times, and our first rest break was taken at the Stuart's Well Roadhouse. As my wife is a dog lover (sorry Jim!) and a sign for Dinky the Dingo was too much to pass by, in we went.

Jim is a lovely fella and told us tales of his family settling in Oz from the UK and how they had opened up King Canyon to tourism. Dinky was at home and as a little kid and their family (the only other customers) also wanted to see the boy, Jim brought him out.

He's bloody brilliant! Up on the old joanna and off he howled. Check out youtube if you want to see him in his glory - he appears a few times.

My only sad news is that Jim was looking to sell the Roadhouse and "retire" back to Alice - your chances of seeing Dinky may be limited...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Old_Nottinghamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Jim's Place at Stuart's Well is the home of Dinky the Singing Dingo. We heard about Dinky from some other travellers in Coober Pedy, and decided why not hear the dingo ourselves.

Jim's Place is a roadhouse about 90km (an hour) from Alice Springs. He sells petrol and such. There is also a pub/restaurant. Plus there is accomodation -- a full range from motel rooms to shaded caravan sites to the free outback camp sites.

We went for the free site and found ourselves pitching the tent in a field of red sand. We slept great, but had to be really careful not to get the sand in the tent.

The free sites can use the pool, barbecue, and the showers for a cost. But since we were only there one night we did not bother. The toilets are pretty old, but they were clean enough although a bit of a walk from the free sites. Still no complaints.

Since the lodging was free, we splurged and ate in the restaraunt. We were rewarded with a delicious dinner (Dan had a huge burger and chips while I had a cheese/mushroom toastie and chips). Plus, of course, there was the performance of Dinky.

Seeing a Dingo walk up and down a piano howling really is a site to behold. We all loved it and cheered Dinky on. So if you are headed to Alice Springs, leave yourself a night to stop off and see Dinky the singing Dingo. All money people give to see Dinky goes to charity so it is a worthy show indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ShyBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews