We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb laksa and prawn dishes ”
Review of The Malaya

The Malaya
Ranked #74 of 6,916 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$89
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We were taken by friends who visit regularly and have to say the food was very good. The salt and pepper prawns were excellent as was the laksa and another prawn curry dish I had. Beef redang was enjoyed by the meat eaters. Good coffee. A lovely view, busy but very efficient staff who knew what they were doing.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank expatsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duan91, Manager at The Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi expatsal,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed 'our famous' Malaya Laksa, Malaya Prawn Curry and your guests the Beef Rendang. The laksa is our own special recipe that we are very proud of & the Malaya Prawn Curry has been on the menu since the restaurant first opened in 1963.
Thanks again and regards
The Malaya Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 125 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

But delicious
Very small table
Vegan friendly and very quick service
The restaurant is flooded with so many retiring visitors
You can't reserve so you need to wait 5-10 minutes to be sitted

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank YossiP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duan91, Manager at The Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Hi Yossi P,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience.
We are delighted to hear you and your guests enjoyed the efficient service and tasty vegan food we have on offer.
You are able to reserve a table by calling the restaurant or booking online. We are so happy we were able to accommodate you despite not having a reservation.
Regards
The Malaya Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We had the set menu here on New Year's Eve and it was FANTASTIC. The food was so tasty and delicious and the service was excellent. We had great views of the 9pm fireworks and could not fault any of the dishes. There was plenty of food and the variety was great.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeezS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duan91, Manager at The Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi LeezS2,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent New Years Eve celebrations with us.
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the wonderful banquet menu and attentive service.
Regards
The Malaya Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Sydney restaurants come and go, but The Malaya endures because it's just so consistent and good. We have been visiting for years, but a fantastic new year's lunch today reminded me just how special it is and made me wonder why I have never bothered to review it before.
The light, bright, spacious room with Darling Harbour views makes a great first impression, which is matched by friendly, attentive service and delicious food. Favourite entrees are the roti jala, san choy bow, seafood rolls and roti canai with curry sauce. For mains, we struggle to choose between the laksa, salt and pepper squid, prawns or cauliflower, szechuan eggplant, tomato-base beef rendang, duck curry and hai nan chicken. Our go-to green vegetable is the chilli kung kong (Chinese water spinach), but the others are good too.
My new year's resolution? Visit The Malaya as often as possible.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LibbyBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duan91, Manager at The Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi LibbyBB,
Thanks for taking the time to write this truly wonderful review.
We are so delighted to hear you are always impressed by the product and service we deliver.
We look forward to welcoming you back more often in the new year.
Regards
The Malaya Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Had the most amazing meal experience here at the Malaya. The restaurant was recommended to me by the operators of my first most favourite restaurant Hanuman in Darwin. Well it was a great recommendation, just loved the food, the view and the excellent service. Opted for the set menu $69 each, which gave us a great variety of the restaurants quality food. It is a big restaurant and it was very busy, but food arrived at a constant pace. Great plates to share. A must do when you are next in Sydney.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trisicairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duan91, Manager at The Malaya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Hi trisicairns,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience.
We are delighted to hear our restaurant came highly recommended & were not disappointed.
We are very proud of our consistently great product and wonderful staff who deliver it.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Sydney.
Thanks again & regards
The Malaya Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Malaya also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Malaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing