We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good accommodation for short stays” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medusa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medusa
Ranked #84 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good accommodation for short stays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This place is great - the rooms are modern and clean, the staff are friendly and the location is one of the best in Sydney.

My gripe is that, at least in the rooms I have had, there is no place for storing clothes (if you're there for more than 2 days) and no power points. I was there for business and needed somewhere to plug in my lap top and phone but there wasn't anywhere to do so. Not a singe spare power point.

That aside though, this is a great and funky hotel and I'd return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickSydney95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    49
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
76
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Fantastic location. Near a wonderful restaurant area. Also close to Oxford Street and the happenings there. A longer walk to CBD, Opera House, etc. but we did it several times. Staff is very accommodating and knowledgeable of the city and sites, restaurants and venues. Hotel is very clean, very quiet, nicely appointed. We had a room on the second floor in the back. Super quiet and private, though small. But we chose not to spring for a grander room. No complaints other than there is very little closet space and no drawers for clothing or anything. On the plus side there is an economical kitchenette with mini fridge, sink, microwave and bowls, plates, cutlery etc. For a longer stay it's nice to have some foods in the room so you're not only dependent on eating out... even for snacks. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sea98102traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here during New Years which is always a very busy period in Sydney. Very warm welcome from Luke and a very nice room. Perfect for a couple. All was very clean, nice bath room, Aveda products and perfect wifi in the room. No facilities at the hotel but you are in Darlinghurst so cafe, restaurants all within minutes walk serving all day breakfast. Location is great. Would definitely return. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. A must go when in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Everyone is nice but Luke rocks. The guy knows everything there is to know about Sydney and he is happy to share it with you. Darlinghurst was a major hit. Who needs the downtown tourist zone with the monster hotels. Darlinghurst is the complete opposite. The whole city seems walkable from here (of course it's not). There are loads of restaurants and bars in the area. If you must take a taxi there are loads on this street. If you come by metro use the King's Cross stop. It's minutes away. We originally used the Museum stop -- wrong. Should have called Luke. It's almost all uphill from there!

So the hotel was very comfortable. My bed was perfect. We stayed in an unusual room that we really liked. It was on the main street and we had NO noise issues at all. The front porch was nice for a glass or two of wine in the evening. Wifi is not perfect in our room but Luke advised as such. In the hotel otherwise it was great. They had Aveda bath items.

So for the complainers....no iphone dock. I had just gotten the 4S and wanted to give it a spin. Oh well. They don't have a restaurant or bar -- no idea why they would with all the other options in the area.

Again....Luke, Luke, Luke.

Room Tip: Ask Luke when you get there. We did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We had a weekend at the Medusa & enjoyed almost everything about it. The location & service were the standouts - you can walk to Potts Point, Darlinghurst, Surry Hills, Oxford St, the city, the harbour etc. Great cafes nearby too.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not at the back upstaris near the aircon for the whole building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebboS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
The Old Clare Hotel
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#92 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Darlinghurst
Pullman Sydney Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa

Property: Medusa
Address: 267 Darlinghurst Road | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Medusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing