We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #59 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Balclutha, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. They certainly did their best to inform us of what we needed to know whenever we asked.
We were on the top floor with a great view of Darling Harbour. Only a couple of minutes walk to the Harbour.
A very spacious and clean room with a full kitchen. Also nice and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneCWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    420
    144
    35
    19
See reviews for
209
303
45
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Plus: Suprisingly I got a room with a view to Darling Harbour (On NYE!). Spacious room, well equipped full kitchen. Quiet (except for one day where people on my floor had a family gathering in the hall). Plenty of seating in the room and hotel in good location.
Minus: Surprising for Australia, the staff knew nothing regarding tourist staff or NYE spots.

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Matilda F,

Thank you for the positive feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed New Years Eve with us.

Over half our building faces Darling Harbour and views are available from most of these apartments.

I do apaologize if the front desk team were not as knowlegable as you would have hoped, but I hope by reading our other comments you will see that this is not normally the case.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Sydney.

Kind regards,

Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L:ower Hutt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Mantra on kent is a great place to stay. It is just around the corner from darling harbour bridge, transport and shops. Our room was serviced every day, and we really have no complaints. I love the mantra chain!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We recently stayed at Mantra on Kent after reading the reviews on Medina vs Mantra. I am usually a fan of Medina but went with Mantra after the glowing reviews and also the fact that the Medina may be going through renovations. Loved the location of the Mantra. So close to everything! However, as we were there with our 17mth old toddler, I was not impressed with the dirty floors in the bathroom and kitchen/lounge area. I took a swipe with a cotton wool and it was black! Did not feel like it was ever cleaned. Made me wonder about the cleanliness of the carpets! Overall it was ok, spacious and convenient. But will be going back to Medina next time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandSLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

5mins to queen victoria shoping
5mins to Darling harbour
5mins to Chinatown
5mins to Town hall station

Only downside was no TV in the Bedroom

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoophound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#45 Business Hotel in Sydney
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing