We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in Sydney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backpackers HQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers HQ
Ranked #59 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed in 3 other hostels in Sydney but none compared to HQ. The courtyard too my breath away. The showers were hot and never ran out of water. The staff were fantastic giving me advice on what to do and see. A refreshing change (staff who want to help!) The Rooms were clean and secure with huge lockers. Everything was perfect. Would never go anywhere else when in Sydney. I love HQ!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girltravels8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    30
    21
    8
    22
See reviews for
Families
0
19
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

This place was the best... The staff were really friendly and helpful, they even helped getting me some work while traveling. They have just finished renovations and the hostel looks fantastic, new everything. New Kitchen, new courtyard, new bathrooms and new tv room. NEW NEW NEW!!! And close to evreything in the heart of the cross... A must stay... Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: All room are clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I had been staying at another hostel Zing down the road for week when a friend told me about this place, Zing was really cramped and dirty couldn't believe this place was a hostel the common areas are big and open and the free breakfast is great they even gave us fruit and a selection of cereal can really recommend stay here oh and they have a hostel dog who is adorable

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgiumSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Was such a friendly boutique hostel meet so many great couples and singles who shared stories of there trips got great ideas. Vicky and Simon the managers are so helpful Simon even droped me off at central with my bags to head up north, can't recommend it enough and to think l was worried about backpacking by my self Steve

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Germanboy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Situated in kings cross its only a 15 minutes walk downtown through the park. Clean room, price ok. Little bit noisy because of the thin doors. Nice atrium, sitting outside near the kitchen. Laundry 4 dollar. Good service! 12 dollar shuttle available to the airport. woolworth nearby and post office. We had a double room with private bath.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hafri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#33 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#14 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Mad Monkey Backpackers Kings Cross
Darlinghurst
Nates Place Backpackers
Nates Place Backpackers
#40 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers HQ

Property: Backpackers HQ
Address: 174 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers HQ 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers HQ is a friendly, clean and safe oasis in the heart of Kings Cross. We have just undergone a major renovation to modernise this beautiful building. Our friendly staff will make you feel welcome with FREE Breakfast daily, FREE Internet, FREE airport shuttle pick-up (conditions apply), FREE entry and FREE drinks in local bars and clubs. Our rooms are spacious, clean and secure with beautifully polished wooden floor boards or tiles. Many rooms have en-suites and fridges. All have security locker storage. Relax in our new TV lounge area or out the back in the timber decked courtyard. A great place to make new friends. Our friendly and helpful staff can help you find a job, buy a car, show you Sydney like us locals know it or tell you where to party every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers HQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing