We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Macquarie Boutique Hotel
Ranked #140 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Macquarie hotel is in a beautiful old pub which has a really lovely history and atmosphere.
It located in Syd CBD, walking distance from central station and was in a perfect location for me as I was doing some sight seeing and didn't have a car.
I highly recommend this for anyone travelling around wanting to explore the city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank maree j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Recommend it as a hip place with great rooms and good beer..food is a bit hard to get..lots of changes with restaurant..but really clean upgraded rooms.. stay here.its really nice. We are from up the coast and have actually been staying here for over 30 years when its was just a pub pulling beer fod locals and the old C.I.B Detectives but lots have changed.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The Easy Goers ... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The mac has been one of my favourite sydney live music venues for many years now, and I've had the pleasure for staying for the weekend on a few seperate occasions in the last 12 months.

The bar area is awesome, thick with old world charm and rich in ambience and warmth. Super friendly bar staff serve up top notch beers brewed downstairs in their very own brewery with no shortage of everything else you could want, on offer.


Accomodation is excellent quality. Some rooms are more recently re-furbed than others (I've stayed in a few different rooms :p), but even the older rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel reception staff are friendly, and bend over backwards to help you out. Even the bar staff are happy to help out when you roll in for a late check in after reception closes. (oops)

Lastly, I would like to say, I have NEVER seen a band here I haven't liked. I've usually never heard of them, but they're always top notch, and predominantly funky as hell! Viva la Mac! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

After a stay in another hotel which was hell we moved to Macquarie Boutique for our last few nights in Sydney. What a great decision, contacted reception and they had a room ready for us within an hour.

Worked out to be a great base as transport was very close (hop on hop off 200m and 5minutes to central station) and we were straight out to Bondi, Coogee, the harbour and all the usual touristy spots.

Another big plus was the free WIFI and not your usual login sites, funny password by the staff :)

Basic rooms and very clean. Super comfy pillows in the bed which was great after a day out and about.

Finally have to mention the staff, they were super which always makes a place so much more enjoyable, always there to help and great fun. Thanks to chef as well for some lovely meals which went down great with the in house home brew, what more could we ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

No full time reception. Third floor office open sometimes.
You are on your own. Had to change rooms, first one unacceptable. The first floor is a bar, second floor a resturant. The website picture is deceiving.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 186 in Sydney
6,779 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Boutique Hotel

Address: 42 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Macquarie Boutique Sydney
Hotel Macquarie Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing