We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
29
54
24
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
54
24
11
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I was positively surprised when I walked in, booked in and got into my room. One of the case where you cannot judge book by its cover. Service was friendly, room neat and tidy. Showers were really clean. It was quiet, too. I had private room and it was great to have sink there. I'm back there next week!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Glebe Point YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hi Outi - really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Stayed here for four nights in early March.
The Good:
Excellent location; easy to get to all the sights in Sydney; sink in room; large kitchen; laundry room; clean showers and toilets; bus and light rail practically to the door step; very easy to see the sights; most staff members were pleasant and helpful.
The Bad:
Very dirty kitchen. The top floor BBQ area could also use a good cleaning. No health inspector would give this hostel a pass. For the 4 nights we stayed, there were three forks and two soupspoons available for a hostel full of guests. Eating cereal with milk using a teaspoon did not make for a good start to the day. Staff was disinterested and did not really care. On our last morning my room card stopped working. I went to the front desk to get another card or have it re-activated as I was locked out of the room. The fellow at the desk said he couldn’t do anything about it, as it was 7:45 AM. He could see to it at 8:00 AM, which is when the front desk opens. Fortunately my husband’s card was still active. On our last night (a Saturday) we listened to non-stop noise from drunken guests. Appalling service which is not what we expected from a YHA facility.

I would recommend that you stay at any other YHA in the city if at all possible.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wilfridblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Review for shared dorm room.

Positives:
- 2nd floor women's bathroom has been upgraded - tidy, (mostly) clean, plenty of showers
- located in quiet residential area (all party noise has to stop by 10pm so even if folks are celebrating on the rooftop, you know it'll stop by 10pm)
- great rooftop area, go up to see sunset and watch the bats fly around the neighbourhood
- cheap washing facility ($3 per cold wash load, $4 for hot wash)
- front desk staff are friendly & helpful (apart from one who may have just been having a bad morning)
- sinks and fans in all dorms are useful, esp. as it gets pretty hot & sticky in summer!

The downsides ...
- The hostel is rundown, but nothing that a good clean (esp. the kitchen) & a new paint job wouldn't fix
- Lots of long-term residents who dominate the common areas & kitchen, and are generally not overly welcming to new folks
- The kitchen ... despite notices to clean the fridges regularly, this clearly isn't happening as there is mouldy & dated food in the fridges & the food shelves, and there is a constant lack of clean cups ..
- A lack of pride in keeping common areas tidy & clean. It feels a bit like a frat house in parts ... unkempt.

For a short stay, in a lovely residential area of Sydney, this is a good option. Cheaper than downtown, but facilities are not quite up to usual YHA standards of cleanliness.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank ExplorerMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The staff at Glebe Point YHA were so excellent. They were really friendly and helpful in booking our days out in Sydney.
The room we had was very clean, spacious and comfortable, and it was a nice touch that there was a basin in our room. The bathrooms were also good, the showers were clean and the toilets were mostly clean.
The kitchen is well equipped, and the air conditioned TV room is a great place to chill out. The roof space is fantastic - beautiful views of Sydney and the BBQ on Friday evenings is not one to miss!
The area of Glebe is lovely - very leafy and green! The market on the weekend is really nice and it has some great little shops and cafes. It is a bit far out of the central city, but the bus and tram from Glebe gets you there in no time.
However, I would say that the Premium WiFi is not great, and we were a bit disappointed about when we asked to sign up for the advertised Pizza Night, that the response we got was simply, "That's not a thing."
It was also a bit difficult to chat to people at this hostel, as there were lots of long term guests.
Other than those final few points, we had a great stay and I would recommend Glebe Point YHA to those travelling on a budget in Sydney.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FreyaJ94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

For a backpackers it covers the basics, you'll have somewhere to sleep, eat and shower but the facilities are pretty tired and in need of a deep clean.

We stayed in a private room (it was all that was available in the Xmas week), and it was considerably cheaper than the other YHAs in the city. However we found some items from the previous guest under the bed and the carpet hadn't been hoovered in quite a while it seemed.

The showers and toilets were fine but only seemed to be quite clean in the easy to reach places.

The kitchen was probably the worst part of the stay, it was closed at 13.45 for nearly an hour for cleaning so you need to have an early lunch if you're around. Again it seemed that the surfaces were just wiped down and the bins emptied. There were signs saying that the fridges and cupboards would be cleared of unlabelled or mouldy food on given days of the week by this didn't seem to happen and there were quite a few fruit flies in the kitchen area. We couldn't find any space in the fridge at all while we were there either.

Most of the staff were polite enough although on one morning I found a girl passed out in the toilet cubicle who I couldn't get to respond so I fetched a member of staff who just looked under the door and said "Oh that's just ******"she managed to get a slight grunt in response and just left without checking if she was hurt or anything else.

There's a tv room downstairs (the only room with air con) and a games room and small seating area near reception.

Location wise Glebe is not that far from the city, you can walk to the centre via Darling Harbour in 35-45 mins. There's also some nice cafes, restaurants and takeaways in Glebe.

If you can afford one of the more central hostels then do, we've stayed at both railway Square and Central YHA and both were better in pretty much all respects, but it is a good way to save some money (although still not cheap)

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Glebe Point YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Rachel and thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have as good as a stay as possible. We have had some issues with the cleaners lately and have already passed on the feedback, this will be rectified from now on. We appreciate your feedback about the kitchen, we do monitor the traffic and cleanliness but we will investigate again and arrange more regular checks in the summer months. We will also have a word to the staff about what happened in the toilet and duty of care. Thanks and we hope you are enjoying your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews