We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaby Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #20 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We normally stay in the CBD but chose this property as it was in an area of restaurants and bars - ideal for evenings. The property does need attention - the decoration is a little tired with the bathrooms needing a refurb first of all. The staff were very helpful - it felt like we were staying with our great aunt! The location is ideal as long as you realise its in the heart of Kings Cross, so be aware of drunks and addicts passing by the front door at all times. They are harmless of course but this is probably not a property for the less travelled. We stayed in a courtyard room which was ideal. Breakfast is basic - I think it ought to be called a light continental style in order to not shock any hungry residents! Cable TV was adequate. In the front of the property - in a room previously used as a restaurant, are 4 tables for breakfast, a snooker table and 2 sofas. The background muzak is from the past hits of Broadway and the West End, a reminder perhaps of the the owners previous life?

Room Tip: Go with a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed at Altamont for 5 days, unfortunately it was the only half-decent hotel I could find at that time! The room was damp, musty and dirty. The only thing good about that hotel was the man at reception. He was very helpful.

But for $180 AU$/night. It's... I'm afraid to say... [--].

There wasn't even a phone in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georges_Kevork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanmzzz, Manager at Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Hello Georges_kevork

It is terific that you found our reception staff genuinely helpful; and also great to hear that you enjoyed your sleep quality and our hotel's location. However I am very disappointed that you were unhappy with other aspects of you stay with us.
You booked over the New Year period when our rates are a little higher - normally your room would be AU$130.00/day.
Sydney experiences a sub-tropical climate all over summer when the entire city feels a degree of dampness. Whilst you were here the humidity ranged between a somewhat uncomfortable 60 and 80%....
Our rooms are kept scrupulously clean and well scrubbed as attested to by prior reviewers; and, all of our rooms have IDD telephones and air conditioning.
I do hope that you might try us again sometime when you can be sure of our close attention.

Cheers for now...........Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at the Altamont for nearly 3 weeks (Dec 27 2011 - Jan 15 2012). This hotel is exceptionally good - Alan and the staff there are charismatic and very helpul. We chose to stay at the Altamont since it was recommended in Lonely Planet, Rough Guide and Sydney Time out. We stayed in a room with patio space which was superb. The bed was fantastically comfortable, shower excellent - it was really well appointed and modern. I have stayed in many hotels, at a similar price, and this is by far the best and represents excellent value for money. It is very close to some great restaurants and bars (Onde is one of the best restaurants i've ever eaten in - also reasonably priced and the Darlo bar is great). I would strongly recommend that if you are considering staying in Sydney that you stay at the Altamont because you will not be disappointed. It is also a dog friendly hotel and Alan has two wonderful dogs, Slick and Bear, who are a delight - very well behaved and always willing to give you a warm welcome on your return from a trip out.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have access to a small shared patio - we stayed in one of these and it was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had a great time in Sydney staying at the Altamont, a small cozy place with a very warm and friendly atmosphere and fantastic staff. The hotel is situated within walking distance to the wharf, Opera House, Botanic Garden and the city centre. There are many nice restaurants, cafes, pubs, galleries and small shops in the surrounding area. We really enjoyed the small-talks with Alan and appreciated his helpful suggestions on where to go and what to do and see in Sydney. The Altamont is a great choice, we were very satisfied and would definitely stay there again the next time we have the opportunity to go to Sydney.

Room Tip: Very spacious and comfortable family room available with direct access to a lovely Patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Good location, easy to get to all sites from here. Very comfortabe small and friendly hotel with a charming and helpful host- Alan- who provided a font of good information about things to see, how to get there and little gems of neighborhood restaurants. Nice small scale, quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#100 of 180 in Sydney
52 reviews
Darlinghurst
Medusa
Medusa
#92 of 180 in Sydney
175 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#140 of 180 in Sydney
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#36 of 180 in Sydney
4,328 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#114 of 180 in Sydney
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 207 Darlinghurst Rd | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: €84 - €187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL ALTAMONT - A GREAT VALUE HOTEL WITH LOTS OF STYLE AND PERSONALITY. An amazing location in the heart of Sydney’s most exciting and eclectic neighbourhood. Alan and his team will welcome you with their personalised hospitality. Let them guide you to the best eats, experiences and hotspots that only locals know about.Rest your head in Sydney's most unique hotel, the ALTAMONT. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Altamont Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing