We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$240
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$225
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
245
134
26
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
134
26
12
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed at Altamont for 5 days, unfortunately it was the only half-decent hotel I could find at that time! The room was damp, musty and dirty. The only thing good about that hotel was the man at reception. He was very helpful.

But for $180 AU$/night. It's... I'm afraid to say... [--].

There wasn't even a phone in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Georges_Kevork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanmzzz, Manager at Altamont Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Hello Georges_kevork

It is terific that you found our reception staff genuinely helpful; and also great to hear that you enjoyed your sleep quality and our hotel's location. However I am very disappointed that you were unhappy with other aspects of you stay with us.
You booked over the New Year period when our rates are a little higher - normally your room would be AU$130.00/day.
Sydney experiences a sub-tropical climate all over summer when the entire city feels a degree of dampness. Whilst you were here the humidity ranged between a somewhat uncomfortable 60 and 80%....
Our rooms are kept scrupulously clean and well scrubbed as attested to by prior reviewers; and, all of our rooms have IDD telephones and air conditioning.
I do hope that you might try us again sometime when you can be sure of our close attention.

Cheers for now...........Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at the Altamont for nearly 3 weeks (Dec 27 2011 - Jan 15 2012). This hotel is exceptionally good - Alan and the staff there are charismatic and very helpul. We chose to stay at the Altamont since it was recommended in Lonely Planet, Rough Guide and Sydney Time out. We stayed in a room with patio space which was superb. The bed was fantastically comfortable, shower excellent - it was really well appointed and modern. I have stayed in many hotels, at a similar price, and this is by far the best and represents excellent value for money. It is very close to some great restaurants and bars (Onde is one of the best restaurants i've ever eaten in - also reasonably priced and the Darlo bar is great). I would strongly recommend that if you are considering staying in Sydney that you stay at the Altamont because you will not be disappointed. It is also a dog friendly hotel and Alan has two wonderful dogs, Slick and Bear, who are a delight - very well behaved and always willing to give you a warm welcome on your return from a trip out.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have access to a small shared patio - we stayed in one of these and it was superb
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had a great time in Sydney staying at the Altamont, a small cozy place with a very warm and friendly atmosphere and fantastic staff. The hotel is situated within walking distance to the wharf, Opera House, Botanic Garden and the city centre. There are many nice restaurants, cafes, pubs, galleries and small shops in the surrounding area. We really enjoyed the small-talks with Alan and appreciated his helpful suggestions on where to go and what to do and see in Sydney. The Altamont is a great choice, we were very satisfied and would definitely stay there again the next time we have the opportunity to go to Sydney.

Room Tip: Very spacious and comfortable family room available with direct access to a lovely Patio.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Good location, easy to get to all sites from here. Very comfortabe small and friendly hotel with a charming and helpful host- Alan- who provided a font of good information about things to see, how to get there and little gems of neighborhood restaurants. Nice small scale, quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed at the Altamont for 7 nights and it was perfect for everything I needed. Alan was fantastically helpful from the moment I called to make the booking. I really enjoyed my room with the patio space outside. It was peaceful and calm. The Altamont has a great atmosphere and is brilliantly situated for access to the city sites, the local station as well as many good bars and restaurants.
Jose
London UK

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews