We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worth the visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Ranked #3 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

History and the stone work make this a worthwhile visit-and the beer is nice and cold as well. W also dinned which was above average.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    178
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
268
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lord Nelson for three days in late February, 2012, and we really enjoyed our stay there. Our room was an en suite, and it was large and clean. Employees were courteous and friendly, and the continental breakfast which was included with our room stay was large and more than adequate. Having a brewpub on the ground floor was more of a bonus than a detriment, as well;) We would stay again and would recommend it to anyone else interested in staying in a pleasant hotel within easy walking distance from the bay, the opera house, city parks, museums, restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: There are only nine rooms available. We chose an en suite room, as we are not comfortable sharing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob2335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The hotel is well located just a short walk to the Rocks on the opposite side of the Harbour Bridge. Location is just a 20 minute walk or so down Kent St to Darling Harbour. Good restaurant inside the hotel or just down the block or many within a 10 minute walk to the Rocks! Continental breakfast was nice with coffee/tea, cereals, yogurt, fruit plate, toast & jams. Our room was Very Small. I mean Very Small. Apparently there's 2 rooms with shared ensuite (that wasn't a problem) but we had the smallest room of the 2 rooms without an ensuite. Realistically, our room is not meant for a couple adults. So, I would recommend choosing a room with an ensuite. The room was quiet as the bar closes at 11pm. Lot's of taxis come past so no need to call for one. Close to Circular Quay, Opera House, downtown and the ferries. We did manage to get free wifi. Overall, a good experience except for our "shoebox" size room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

If you like beer (and I mean real beer, not fake beer like Fosters) then this is your place! Not only do they serve six varieties of great beer that they brew on site in their pub, their lodging is great too. Amazingly quiet for having a lively brewpub downstairs. Perfect location, close to the rocks with all of the tourist attractions like the Sydney Opera House, and Harbour, as well as many great food options within 5 minutes walk on Argyle St. They are also close to the Observatory and great views of the city (I had great views from my room). Continental breakfast was served in the morning with basics like cereal and toast. More substantial options were also available for an additional charge (for around $16). Parking was plentiful on the streets nearby (free after 6pm, 2.20 an hour from 8-6pm). Americans may find the room to be small, but it was all I needed. They also had free wifi (for a short time).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_WarEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, however we did eat in the pub and the dining room upstairs.

Great craft beers in the pub with old English atmosphere. Pub food was excellent. Fish and Chips were great. Upstairs for dinner we had the lobster, crab and chili spaghettini dinner - exceptional food in a great restaurant. Will be back on our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlotF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,919 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Property: The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing