We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Gorokan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This is a great hotel for its position. It is only 4 star so that is what you get. Considering the deal I got for 3 days including breakfast and car parking I have no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Happy to read that you have enjoyed our central location. I am also glad that our all inclusive package suited your needs.
We hope to see you back soon at Rydges World Square.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    874
    362
    131
    61
See reviews for
365
611
170
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We booked our room through a mystery deal so got a good price. It is very well located in World Square as we were going to the Capitol Theatre. The staff were pleasant enough and the room was clean. Our view was of the monorail line which wasn't the best! Also, there are smoking rooms so be sure to request non-smoking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Jazzie,
Seems like the mystery deal you booked was perfect for the purpose of your visit to Sydney. I am happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
We hope we will welcome you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

So, having stayed at a number of business hotels I expect certain basics found in 2 star joints that are missing here. Absent from the room so far are:

An iron
Tea and coffee supplies
Batteries for the safe/a working safe
Complete set of cups/glasses
Room service menu

There is also that wonderful feeling that due to there only being one bedside lamp (sorry couples that thought a king suite was for you) the bed is concave on one side and completely unused on the other if you don't mind not having a light switch. Staying here for a few days so will update as we go. One the upside it is clean, in a decent location and the front desk staff are polite and competent even if not up to engaging with guests or smiling.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
I am sorry to read that the standard amenities were not placed in your room and apologise for the inconvenience caused.
I regret that on this occasion we didn’t meet your expectations and would be happy to have the opportunity to discuss further with you, the concerns you have raised in your feedback.
You can contact me direct at your convenience. My email address is tish_nyar@rydges.com.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

For spending a little bit more you can get sooooo much more out of a hotel. I was there for one night to see friends who were visiting and I need something central. I'd got a mystery deal off of wotif.com, so the price was fine, asking for a king room. Was surprised to find myself in a twin room when I checked in that afternoon.Calling reception they said I'd been upgraded to a non smoking room. Okayyyyy - since when do you get upgraded to a non-smoking room.
The staff were pleasant and quite helpful, but reception was very busy and more staff could make the passage though check in easier. The room itself was okay - the bathroom especially could do with some remodelling with some intersting stains about the place. The bed and shower good, the television had fuzzy reception - and it was a little noisy. If on a budget, I'd come back as it wasn't awful, but I rather pay the extra thirty or forty dollars and get a stay that I loved rather than one I just liked.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandoraBehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
When running on full occupancy we do try our best to answer all our guests’ requests. I am sorry that in this case, we were not able to allocate you in a Deluxe King Room . Although we could only offer you a room with 2 double XL beds, I am glad that your request for a non smoking room was able to be met. I have also taken on board your comments in regards to staffing.
Any issues with our television should be fixed with our digital TV upgrade and we hope you will appreciate the improvement on your next visit.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Cons
- Blood stain on sheets
- Additional $5 charge on every room service order, despite no mention of this fee on in room dining menu
- Booking confirmation claimed accommodation charges had been charged to credit card but on check out front desk staff said no charges had been made. Then couldn't pay using eftpos because card couldn't swipe (despite it being swiped on check in for $100 pre authorization) so had to pay using credit card (which attracts an additional 1.5% fee).
- Floor levels start at level 12 not level 1 so first time guests are deceived into thinking they're staying on a high floor.
- I asked a room service staff member if I could have breakfast delivered at 5.30am as I was starting early. They said they'd check with their manager and call me back. I received no call back.
- Curtains don't block out light from street adequately.
- Decor in room is outdated and rooms look dull.

Pros
- Great location.

Overall, a very average experience for a claimed 5-star hotel. As with every negative review of this hotel, the manager will chime in and thank the customers for their feedback. As other reviews have highlighted similar problems over the past few years, I doubt any action will be taken to rectify issues.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Andrew,

Two minor points we are branded and rated 4.5 stars on our website listings and with AAA the rating agency. Yes unfortunately the original developers did number the floors of the building from the sub basement levels, so street level starts at level 10 an issue we are unable to address.

Having said this clearly not a good stay or experience. I do apologise for letting you down and would like the opportunity of discussing these concerns directly. My details are tish_nyar@rydges.com.

Regards,
Tish Nyar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#72 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing