We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally located to visit the center of town by foot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Ranked #82 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
280 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Ideally located to visit the center of town by foot”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

When I searched a hotel in Sydney for two nights on our way frm Europe to New Zealand, my aim was to find a centrally located hotel frm which we could easily walk to the Opera House, the Botanic Gardens, the wharf.
On top of all that, Phillip Street is also at two minutes walk from the St James railway station. The train from the airport stops there. Perfect !
The rooms are modern and large enough. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlos_R_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Carlos_R_888,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed Sydney and took advantage of our wonderful location.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    754
    297
    90
    45
See reviews for
269
536
181
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

If you are looking for the perfect location and one of the best deals in the CBD this is the place.If you are looking for a upscale place look somewhere else.My wife and I(who is from Sydney) spent 110 a night for 4 nights and it was perfectly located within walking distance to everything in the downtown area, that is if you like to walk(not a problem for us).The room was clean but the A/C hardly worked at all,even on full blast all day.Basicaly it is the best deal we could find in the heart of the CBD if you are looking for a clean no frills room, but if you are looking for something else go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandySSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear MandySSS,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Phillip Street. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the room tidy and clean. We will check the Air-conditioning in your room as it should have the ability to cool the room, I am sorry if this caused you any discomfort. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Travelodge in January 2012. We booked direct with the hotel and paid a little over A$200 per night. We had our 7 year old daughter with us and the room had a double bed in it and a fold out sofa bed. The room was quite small and with the three of us plus our luggage it felt very cramped as there is only a small chest of drawers and a very narrow wardrobe space. There were quite a few issues with our room which given the price of the room we were a bit annoyed about. First, when we opened the sofa bed we discovered that the sheets on it were dirty as they were full of food crumbs and hairs. Second of all, the shower when turned on screeched and groaned and was so noisy plus the actual shower head had to be held up in a certain position as it kept dropping down while you were showering. The bathroom floor was a bit dirty too in the corners and beside the toilet with bits of hair and debris. Our air con did not work properly, it wa set on 17 degrees Celsius but there was no way that the room was that cool, it was cooler in the corridors than the actual room and at night it felt hot and stuffy in the room. The blanket on the bed is one of those itchy woolen types and the bedspread had a large brownish stain on it in a very visible spot. As we were only staying at the Travelodge for 2 nights we did not bother to complain, we really only needed a place to sleep as we were out all day anyhow. But, for the price of the room I certainly expected a better standard as I have stayed all over Australia and overseasin hotels in a similar price range and experienced much nicer and better maintained rooms. I would not stay at the Travelodge again nor would I recommend them to anyone. The only saving grace was that the staff were very pleasant and helpful during check in and check out and that the hotel is located in a quiet street in a good location to transport and sightseeing in Sydney. We were located on the 9th floor and we did not hear any noise at all during our stay either from other guests or the street below.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor away from the elevator with no rooms above would no doubt be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KylesMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear KylesMac,

I would like to thank you providing feedback about your recent stay and I was disappointed to hear aspects of your stay that were not up to standard. You have flagged some valuable points that I will be addressing with my team in order to improve our guest's experience with us. If you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISBANE CITY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This hotel is part of the NSW Leagues Club.
There is licenced bars, restuarants and poker machines, TAB and other amenities within this complex.
The hotel does not offer a breakfast service.
They rely in the amenities of the Leagues Club. The food is basic and not really appetising.
However, the hotel has no control over this.
I would suggest a short stroll to Sydney Tower - only 5 minute walk and enjoy the lavish opportunities within this complex.
Back to the hotel.
Great access when arriving at the airport.
Cheap train fare and alight at the Martin Place station or St James station for a short walk to the hotel.
Taxi access is easy as the inner city expresway exits in close proximity to the hotel.
This will save you some money when coming to or from the hotel to the airport - make sure you tell the driver you want this option!
The check in process was simple and professional.
The rooms are basic. I think it is time for a refurbishment and update.
I have been a regular traveller to this hotel now for 6 years. Nothing much has changed in this time.
That is not to say the amenities are not clean and fresh.
The hotel is very central to access to good shopping and Sydney Tower.
Despite previous reviews it is not a bad spot to be located to move around Sydney.
It has direct access to the Sydney City Circle (underground railway) that will get you around all areas of Sydney city, cheaply and efficiently.

Room Tip: I would suggest for a good night sleep that you ask for an interior room - or one not facing the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beagle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked an extra night to take over our room on arrival and got a reduction in the price.Room was clean and spacious. Toiletries and beverages were replaced every day.Room overlooking painted mural and courtyard. Very quiet. Computer access and laundry on same floor. Ate in Rugby club restaurant. Excellent and well priced. Would stay again. Central to all the sights.

Room Tip: Our room looked out onto a mural painted courtyard which gave the impression of overlooking the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel123Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Hazel123Conwall,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, the team at Travelodge Phillip Street are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Address: 165 Phillip Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place is in the heart of the city’s CBD, close to Hyde Park and many of Sydney’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing