We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As the saying goes, location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #49 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“As the saying goes, location, location, location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Travelled from Perth, WA in company with my bestie who was over from the UK. The location of this hotel is excellent and once i started exploring Sydney by foot im so pleased i picked the Rocks area rather than Darling Harbour to stay. The hotel was comfortable and if i had to find some negatives, i guess i was slightly disapointed with some small things in the room. Im not sure if this was because we were staying in a twin room rather than a double though. The disapointment was with the small things like the step down from the door in the bedroom (which i stumbled down a few times until i got used to it, i was sober as well may i add) and the fact that the window didnt close all the way. Pluse, there were building works next to our room (out of the control of the hotel but i didnt need to utilise my alarm clock as i was awoken at 7am everyday). However, there are many plus points to the hotel which include; FCUK bathroom shampoo, shower gel etc etc. The staff are really friendly, breakfast is lovely and the location is brilliant and aside from the building works the hotel was very quiet. Just to make mention, the location is what what makes this hotel worth staying at. Its a short stroll from the Bridge, the opera house, resturant and bars and also water taxi's if you get tired of walking. As a tourist from over West this was a great stopping point. All in all a few minor disapointments but i would stay again at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WA_Sunshine_Chaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    817
    268
    92
    53
See reviews for
380
1,043
83
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. We had a 6th floor room which had great harbour views. Perfectly located at The Rocks, central to all attractions. The kitchen was a bonus and the rooms were very spacious with a full longe area, dining table, separate bedroom and ensure.

On the flip side the room was a little tired, the bed a bit hard and the wi-fi slow with many black spots.

Overall we had a great experience. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our friends. great value in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My daughter and I have stayed on two separate occasions at the Rendezvous, for only one night each time. We are promising ourselves that on the next occasion we will stay for longer as we really enjoyed ourselves each time. We chose the hotel initially because of its proximity to the Opera House, where we were attending evening concerts, however we very quickly found the hotel and its friendly atmosphere and good facilities (including nice pool and sauna) very much to our liking. The Rendezvous Stafford represents excellent value for money; the rooms were very clean and a good size, and the service was excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The townhouses which overlook Harrington Street are very nice. They are two-storey and very roomy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed 3 night s at the Rendezvous. The location was fantastic – we had a glimpse of the Opera House from our room. It was within walking distance of Circular Quay station – but we hadn’t counted on the steps when towing our suitcases, although on the way back when we knew our way around we found an easier way with no steps.

The front desk staff were always friendly as we walked by and check in was very efficient. Storing our bags after check out until we left Sydney was no problem.

The room was clean, in good repair, very quiet and big enough for 2. The kitchen a bonus but the bed could have been larger. The desk with lamp was appreciated. The pool was a pleasant temperature and good to relax after sightseeing.

The Rocks is a fascinating area to walk around – we kept finding new staircases and laneways. Close by the hotel is the Visitor Information Centre – make this your first call.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed with my family of 5 (2 adults, 3 young children) at the Rendezvous in August. We booked one of the town houses that front Harrington Street and were very impressed with the size - two bedrooms, one upstairs and one downstairs plus the bathroom upstairs and kitchen area at the back. It was a great room with lots of space for luggage and storage, although the stairs were very steep and we had to supervise our youngest as he walked up and down them. Large fridge allowed us to stock up at the local supermarket as well as an oven and kettle and two large flat screen TV's for the kids to watch.
The best thing is of course the very convenient location in The Rocks, only a 5 minute walk from Circular Quay and similar time to get into the CBD.
Staff were friendly and helpful, although the only niggle is that the room wasn't ready for us until the afternoon - we had arrived in the morning simply because that was the time our flight arrived - however, we were able to drop our bags behind reception and wander off for a while to get some breakfast.
Free Wifi was available throughout the hotel for a couple of hours a day - password supplied by reception. Overall it was a great place to stay and a great way to get full use from older buildings - something Sydney does very well. (in HK they would be knocked down!)
We didn't use the pool because it was winter but I believe it was heated and certainly large enough for kids to have some fun in.

Room Tip: Pick one of the terraced townhouses at the front of the hotel. Fabulous little buildings that make g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OS_HK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#36 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing