We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location but too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #38 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Great location walking distance from all Sydney attractions. Stayed in triple room 3rd floor for 4 nights. Very noisy between weekend hen parties and also cleaning stock room adjoining, constant use from early morning, doors very squeaky (would advise bit of oil)and noise seemed to travel. Reception staff were great, very helpful and spent time advising us where to go. Also, could not split the bill at end of trip as already had taken money from credit card which was used as security only. Was not advised of his when we checked in. Overall bar noise, good value for money. Also recommend that cleaning staff clean mirrors in bathroom as when steamed up can't repeat online what previous client wrote :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2010

Dear DebIRE,

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay with us. I have noted the concerns raised and will action these immediately with all Managers concerned. We pride ourselves on guest satisfaction and thank you once again for your comments. Let me assure you we take all feedback in every instance very seriously.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,997 - 4,001 of 4,447 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

This was just such a great & friendly hotel! The staff there knew everything about all the places we wanted to visit in Sydney while I stayed there and they gave great recommendations on places to eat and tours to do.

It has a really cool vibe when you walk in and even has a bright yellow scooter in the foyer. We stayed in the deluxe spa suite which was well worth what we paid.

One of the best places I've stayed in Sydney - highly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Dear Adventurers_9,

Thank you so much for taking your time in sharing your experience at Quality Hotel Cambridge. The staff is what makes the hotel stand out and it is truly gratifying to hear that we are achieving our goals in providing superior guest service. I have passed on your comments to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel on our way to a wedding in the Hunter Valley and had a few problems with the booking, which was a last minute deal through Expedia. The room we were offered was not of a type or standard we were expecting based on our booking confirmation. However I can only applaud the way the hotel management have dealt with this issue and resolved it for us in a totally professional and very courteous way. Our poor opinion has been wiped away. This hotel is in a great location - just be very clear that you know what you are getting in terms of a room when you book. My congratulations to the hotel team - you know your stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Wgtn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Dear Steeplerock,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Quality Hotel Cambridge. We are truely greatful of client feedback in every instance. Myself, the management and staff pride ourselves on actioning all guest feedback. It is only through this feedback that we know what we are doing right and where we can improve.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We booked a premier room and paid on average 165 AUD per night. The room was spacious and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Great Location - lots of nice little bars and restaurants within walking distance. The car park is dark and narrow and for 25 AUD (20 on the weekend) not cheap. Overall good value for money and I can recommend this hotel!
Comment to the management for improvement: we looked at the guest laundry room and decided not to wash our clothes there. It could use a good cleaning! A soap dish in the bathroom would be a helpful accessories as we were trying to keep the soap from sliding into the sink all the time with whatever we could find.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandiene31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Dear Amandiene31

Thank you for choosing Quality Hotel Cambridge for your recent stay in Sydney. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

In regards to car parking, we regularly audit all car parking surrounding the hotel and our parking charges are the most competitively priced.

Again, we thank you for the comments and from your feedback we will be placing new tiles on the floor of the guest laundry as well as re-painting and refreshing the guest laundry area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The Quality Hotel Cambridge is a great value, and suited our needs perfectly. We were looking for a clean and comfortable hotel in a safe location within easy reach of public transportation, and the Quality Hotel didn't disappoint. The Museum stop on the City Rail is just a ten minute walk down Oxford Street. There is also a grocery store and liquor store just two blocks up the street, as well as numerous restaurants within an easy walk of the hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful every step of the way. We stayed in two different rooms (left Sydney to travel to Cairns, then returned for another night's stay), and both were spacious and clean. We'd definitely recommend the Quality Hotel to anyone looking for a good mid-range hotel in Sydney.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Go44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2010

Dear Luv2go44,

Thank you for choosing Quality Hotel Cambridge for your recent stay in Sydney. I hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration, I have passed on your comments to all staff and we hope to see you again soon at the Quality Hotel Cambridge.

Kind Regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#85 of 181 in Sydney
0 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#46 of 181 in Sydney
890 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#106 of 181 in Sydney
5,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#45 of 181 in Sydney
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: €79 - €247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service along with a rustic Italian restaurant. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing