We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Abey Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
ADGE Apartment Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,805)
Filter reviews
4,806 results
Traveller rating
1,913
2,026
641
148
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,913
2,026
641
148
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurry hillsoxford streetgreat locationbalcony roommuseum stationhyde parkwalking distancefree wifigood sizepublic transportopera housewould stay againreception staffmini barshort staybuffet breakfastcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
4,009 - 4,014 of 4,806 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The room we stayed in was ok, though disappointed when we booked two rooms they were located on the other side of the building and the receptionist charged us twice and we never noticed till we looked through our transaction. Wouldnt really recommend this for family since I took younger siblings with me down to the pool area which you had to access through a different elevator as well as going through the lobby with random people just watching you , was disappointed with the spa since it was the same temperature with the pool and there were a few rowdy people that had hotel rooms right next to the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m_kaitlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear m_kaitlyn,
Thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback.
We appreciate your feedback and understand the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
The issue has been discussed with the front office manager and measures have been taken to ensure that guests are better informed upon check-in.
Your feedback has been important to us and I would like to thank you for taking your time to share them with us.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The Cambridge/ Abbey has nice people working there and we're very helpful. The hotel is about a about 15 minute walk to downtown. When we were there at the beginning of November the hotel was renovating, and the work crew started at 7am, not very restful. There was no warning from the hotel that this was going to happen. Plus the windows all single pane and the street noise was loud. The buffet breakfast was nice enough, with tea, coffee, cereal, toast, yogurt, muffins etc. The hotel room was clean and functional

Room Tip: Gate a room in the rear of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Safcdaft,
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and for taking you time to share your feedback with us.
I am very glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
I apologise for the inconvenience caused by the renovations, and I am glad to inform you that the renovation work is complete and the new restaurant is now in full function.
I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean and functional.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

We booked a last minute deal and got a deluxe room here at half price. Our visit was only brief for a one night stay after a wedding. Our room was big with a nice clean bathroom and everything seemed new. Loved the new magazines the flick through and couldn't hear any noise from the street. Will stay at again if we can find discounted prices

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear webbsm,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your great feedback with us.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were satisfied with the spaciousness and cleanliness. I am glad that you enjoyed the magazine service and it is great to hear that you will stay with us again.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I have been staying at the Cambridge Hotel for the past 2 years whilst studying in Sydney.
I come from a small country town in NSW.To be away from my Family for a week at a time was very difficult. Staying at the Cambridge I always felt Welcomed by the Staff & the Accommadation was very comfortable.I will definately return to the Cambridge with my Family & Friends.I recommend the Cambridge Hotel for your next stay in Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a separate lounge area & kitchen. Also ask for a balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Dear Karen I,
Thank you very much for taking your time to leave your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It is always a great pleasure to hear from guests that have stayed with us often and feel at home when they stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you are impressed with the comfortable accommodation and the friendly staff.
Once again, thank you for your great feedback, and we will always look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Warmest regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Having been in Sydney for 3 months for work, I have stayed in many different hotels trying to find one that ticked the boxes, ; clean rooms , on site parking, friendly helpful staff and value for money . The Cambridge hotel exceeds my expectations. The rooms are large and airy and very clean. The staff are all friendly and excell in customer service, wether it's rearranging bookings or providing maps and local knowledge. The hotel's resteraunt is being renovated, so meals are limited to room service menu. All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madigliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear madigliana,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and for taking your time to share your wonderful feedback with us.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and you that you felt the hotel exceeded all your expectations.

I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities and the friendly staff. I am happy to inform you that the restaurant officially opened last week, and the food is delicious.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Steven Gargano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews