We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but quite a walk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near Oxford Street with all its restaurants. The hotel itself has all the facilities you need in winter time, including an indoor pool. The rooms are quite small but the beds were good. At the reception you will meet both experienced and efficient staff. The major downside is the long walk from the main sights such as Sydney Opera and Harbour Bridge, unless you do not mind walking. And we were not happy with the huge noise from the construction work going on and on and on...Turn left twice from the hotel for a cosy breakfast and dinner cafe, Mr Mo, in Campbell street.

Room Tip: Please ask for a view when booking a room, otherwise your stuck with some boring rooftops.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PINGUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear PINGUZ,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel, and for taking your time to share your feedback.
I am pleased to hear that you felt the hotel was well equipped with winter facilities, and that the service and guest relations were to your satisfaction.
I am sorry to hear you felt the attractions were too long of a walk away. The Opera house is 2.5 km from the hotel, and Darling harbour is 1.5 km from the hotel. I hope you spent a little time exploring Surry Hills as this is where Sydney local come to shop , dine and play.
The construction of the building next door will be finished in November this year, however we have been informed that the heavy construction has now been completed , there is only indoor labour now witch will not cause noticeable levels of noise. I apologise for the disruption this has brought to you during your stay.
I am glad that you enjoyed the café Mr. Mo; great recommendation.
Once again, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay, and we hope to be able to welcome you back again to the Cambridge hotel.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,271)
There are newer reviews for Cambridge Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,580 - 3,584 of 4,271 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We booked Cambridge Hotel because of location and favourable reviews in Tripadvisor. The location is excellent walking distance to the CBD and in the centre of the excellent cafe and restaurant selection in Surry Hills. The hotel reception area is bright and inviting. The receptionist was efficient and friendly. Our room was rather small but was very clean. We would have rated this hotel as being very good had we not been annoyed by an obvious lack of maintenance of some fittings (a broken shower door - a toilet seat that would not stay upright).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colval_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Colval_8,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel, and for taking your time to share your comments regarding your stay.
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s staff and location. It is great to hear that our guests feel valued and welcome.
I am disappointed to hear that you didn’t feel the maintenance lived up to correct standards. I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly on steven@cambridgehotel.com.au so we make sure that the issues you encountered have been given the attention needed.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We had a deluxe room with balcony and it is very spacious with a living area & kitchenette. Good views back towards Central station. The area is great due to so many top restaurants especially in Crown Street. The hotel is modern with reasonable rates and the staff seem efficient. The bed in our room could do with an update but apart from that we were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are next to a building construction site so ask for a room away from there.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear GJB66,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel.
I am very pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectations, and that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Location is excellent, Room is modern and better than a lot other claim as 4 stars. Price is higher than average 4 stars hotel.
Staff is nice and generally feel welcome when you arrive, have speedy check in service if facebook user??
Lift is very very slow in morning, have to wait 5mins or more to wait during the peak hours on check out (10am)
Room is fresh and clean, size is ok.
Overall, will come back again if price is right.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcussss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Marcussss,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay with us.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the location, service provided by our staff, and the cleanliness and style of your room.
You are correct that as a facebook follower, you get the fast track service.
I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience of the busy elevators. I hope this didn’t have too much of a negative impact on your stay.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback.
We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Where do I start?
Firstly, the car park was shocking, we don't have a large car but the steep start followed with the tiny spaces made it an awful start to the stay. There were hardly any places available and some larger cars were forced to park across 2 spots not to get their fronts crashed into.
Next, the sheets had stains, the bath tub was dirty and although we got a spa room (yes extra cost) it looked unclean so I would not get in it.
The lounge floor was wet I couldn't see why. The next morning it became clear, for no reason there was now water all over the tiles near the spa which we had not turned on!
When checking the room when we packed up, we found a pair of shoes, a glass and a water bottle under the bed, this really made me feel good about their standard of cleaning!!
With so many floors and only 2 lifts, it took 5-10 min in the hall waiting for a lift to travel downstairs.
We paid the overpriced bill (the rooms are much smaller than the pictures show) and we thought the nightmare would be over.
But no.... it continued.... when my boyfriend checked his bank account he had been charged twice. Once was the room amount plus holding deposit (which the reception said would be held for the duration of our stay and then we would be refunded the room deposit) (aparently they require a $50 deposit, not sure why nothing is worth stealing!)), This did not happen in our case. He was charged the holding amount, and then charged the room amount as well. Effectively taking $700. When he phoned his bank they said they required a letter from the hotel to have this money released, he called the hotel and they were adament they were not holding an extra $351... LIARS!!
Finally the money has been released, and our nightmare has ended. Unless I get a foot fungus from the shower of course.

Room Tip: The pictures on the net look large and cl;ean, this is not the case. Run away now!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 7point6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
857 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,049 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: €91 - €235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing