We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families on a budget that still want all the comforts, but choose room wisely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #39 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights on the advice of other travellers ,and found the double bed x 2 room perfect for our needs.It was clean and neat and had obviously been updated recently. We had a balcony overlooking the street and a big sliding door that let in fresh air instead of just using the air con all the time. At no stage of our stay were we bothered by excessive traffic noise even when the door was open at night overlooking the street.This hotel is close to the city after all. The desk staff were really pleasant and helpful when we needed extra towels for the pool etc and always acknowledged us as we passed thru reception. The pool and spa were adequate for the kids , but it does get rather noisy and we were glad we did not get a room on that level as your door is very close to the edge of the pool !! Its location means that you are really close to Oxford street, a supermarket, Chinatown and the Sydney Police station ( we felt very safe!) .We skipped the expensive hotel breakfast for a great brekky wrap and cofee at a cafe 2 mins walk away called The Bean Temple before we headed out on our daily walk into the city to see the sights. However, on our first morning there, we were woken at 7.15am to the sound of jack hammering vibrating through the walls and floor. When we called reception to find out what it was ,we were told it was from the construction site next door and they had just begun the jack hammering this week. Management is apparently in negotiation with the builder and council over start times for this part of the build, but it was a real pain to wake up to. The staff offered immediately to move us to another room and apologised proffusely. Our next room was just as good and we all slept in peacefully the next morning tucked away from the noisy vibrations. I would recommend this hotel to those wanting location , clean amenities and affordability especially if you plan on spending most of your holiday money seeing the sights of Sydney.

Room Tip: For the next few weeks ask for rooms right away from the construction noise. Be really specific abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mumdadkids101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Hi mumdadkids101,

Thank you very much for your great comments. It is great to hear that the hotel facilities, service and staff has been to your satisfaction. I am also glad that our staff were able to assist you with prompt action in regards to the noise issue with the construction site. As you have mentioned in your review we have negotiated with the builders and the council. I am happy to tell you that the construction noise will be kept at all times. It is great to hear that the second room was as good as the first one. I look forward welcoming you and your family back to the Cambridge in the near future.


Kind Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,829 - 3,833 of 4,437 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel is probably one of the best I have been to in Sydney. A short walk to Oxford St was convenient and we were glad it was near Central Station. The rooms were terrific and I am glad to say that I will definitely be going back there in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear 33bennett
It is always great to read such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you have had a great time at the Cambridge Hotel. We looking forward to welcoming you, your friends and family back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We arrived at 1000 on New Years Eve and found it very frustrating (after travelling for 29 hours) when told that we couldn't have our room until 1400 even though the lady on reception informed us that it was empty! She was not interested in helping us. She was Eastern European. At 1230 my wife complained and she gave us a room on the advice of the porter! I don't think it was what we paid for but it was adequate. That being said the rest of our stay was comfortable. The room 704 was quiet and very clean. Samantha and Chris on reception were excellent. They assisted us in any way they could and always very friendly. They confirmed all our arrangements. We felt very safe in the area even late at night and the amenities were very good. Well situated for the city if you don't mind some walking but very well situated for public transport. Some of the complaints are totally unjustified. I would recomend a stay here. Ideal for this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at the Cambridge for 4 nights. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the hotel interiors felt fairly new. Amenities were basic, but for the price, the hotel was better than expected. The one issue we had was with the wifi, which is quite pricey, very slow, and handled by a third party, so when we had problems with our voucher, the hotel desk was unable to help.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Ceneri,
It is great to hear that you have had an enjoyable time at the Cambridge Hotel. Thank you very much for your feedback. Please be assured that we use all guest feedback constructively to further improve our standards and services.

Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel got off to a bad start. First they overcharged me against my prepaid internet booking but this was soon resolved by e-mail and I received a credit. When we booked in, the gentleman on reception then tried to charge me again for the pre-paid room, after some convincing he finally agreed that we had pre-paid. He then gave us a room with two single beds rather than the double ordered, with no explanation or apology.

The next issue was with the wifi, having purchased a voucher at an exorbitant cost for one hour which I had to go to the reception area to get an internet connection as I was unable to get a signal in my room. The one hour voucher ran out after about 15 minutes. In America and the UK this ia a complimentary service but 3 of the 16 hotels we stayed at on this holiday charged for wifi! However, this hotel was by far the most expensive and the worst service. In fairness the front desk were very helpful in trying to resolve the difficulties with the wifi, which in the main turned out to be due to their service provider.

All these incidents were unfortunate because actually, this is very nice hotel and with a little more attention to detail and decent wifi system would be a very good one! The rooms were nicely furbished, comfortable and clean. Apart from the booking in- process the front desk staff especially Dona and Ledir were efficient, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Hi Mal033,
First of all I would like to apologise for our mistake at check in with us at the Cambridge. This is certainly not the standard of service we are aiming for and it disappoints me that the check in process wasn’t to your and neither to my satisfaction. Unfortunately internet service is very expensive in Australia compared to the rest of the world. To charge for internet is a common practice for Sydney and Australian hotels. We have a very competitive pricing for the internet compared to other Sydney hotels. I am glad to hear that we could meet your expectations in all other areas. We will use your feedback constructively to further improve for your future stays with us at the Cambridge.

Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#85 of 180 in Sydney
2,548 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 180 in Sydney
887 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#106 of 180 in Sydney
5,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#45 of 180 in Sydney
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: €80 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service along with a rustic Italian restaurant. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing