We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Sydney Central(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$304
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$283
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Vulcan Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Central Railway Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,878)
Filter reviews
4,878 results
Traveller rating
1,960
2,045
647
147
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,960
2,045
647
147
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurry hillsoxford streetgreat locationbalcony roomhyde parkmuseum stationfree wifigood sizeopera housepublic transportwould stay againreception staffshort staymini barbuffet breakfastcentral locationcircular quay
Filter
Updating list...
4,229 - 4,234 of 4,878 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel is probably one of the best I have been to in Sydney. A short walk to Oxford St was convenient and we were glad it was near Central Station. The rooms were terrific and I am glad to say that I will definitely be going back there in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear 33bennett
It is always great to read such wonderful comments. I am delighted that you have had a great time at the Cambridge Hotel. We looking forward to welcoming you, your friends and family back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We arrived at 1000 on New Years Eve and found it very frustrating (after travelling for 29 hours) when told that we couldn't have our room until 1400 even though the lady on reception informed us that it was empty! She was not interested in helping us. She was Eastern European. At 1230 my wife complained and she gave us a room on the advice of the porter! I don't think it was what we paid for but it was adequate. That being said the rest of our stay was comfortable. The room 704 was quiet and very clean. Samantha and Chris on reception were excellent. They assisted us in any way they could and always very friendly. They confirmed all our arrangements. We felt very safe in the area even late at night and the amenities were very good. Well situated for the city if you don't mind some walking but very well situated for public transport. Some of the complaints are totally unjustified. I would recomend a stay here. Ideal for this fantastic city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at the Cambridge for 4 nights. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the hotel interiors felt fairly new. Amenities were basic, but for the price, the hotel was better than expected. The one issue we had was with the wifi, which is quite pricey, very slow, and handled by a third party, so when we had problems with our voucher, the hotel desk was unable to help.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Ceneri,
It is great to hear that you have had an enjoyable time at the Cambridge Hotel. Thank you very much for your feedback. Please be assured that we use all guest feedback constructively to further improve our standards and services.

Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel got off to a bad start. First they overcharged me against my prepaid internet booking but this was soon resolved by e-mail and I received a credit. When we booked in, the gentleman on reception then tried to charge me again for the pre-paid room, after some convincing he finally agreed that we had pre-paid. He then gave us a room with two single beds rather than the double ordered, with no explanation or apology.

The next issue was with the wifi, having purchased a voucher at an exorbitant cost for one hour which I had to go to the reception area to get an internet connection as I was unable to get a signal in my room. The one hour voucher ran out after about 15 minutes. In America and the UK this ia a complimentary service but 3 of the 16 hotels we stayed at on this holiday charged for wifi! However, this hotel was by far the most expensive and the worst service. In fairness the front desk were very helpful in trying to resolve the difficulties with the wifi, which in the main turned out to be due to their service provider.

All these incidents were unfortunate because actually, this is very nice hotel and with a little more attention to detail and decent wifi system would be a very good one! The rooms were nicely furbished, comfortable and clean. Apart from the booking in- process the front desk staff especially Dona and Ledir were efficient, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Hi Mal033,
First of all I would like to apologise for our mistake at check in with us at the Cambridge. This is certainly not the standard of service we are aiming for and it disappoints me that the check in process wasn’t to your and neither to my satisfaction. Unfortunately internet service is very expensive in Australia compared to the rest of the world. To charge for internet is a common practice for Sydney and Australian hotels. We have a very competitive pricing for the internet compared to other Sydney hotels. I am glad to hear that we could meet your expectations in all other areas. We will use your feedback constructively to further improve for your future stays with us at the Cambridge.

Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Near to Oxford Street and nightlife, if that's where you want to be. Hotel seems to have been renovated and jumped up into higher category in terms of price, when it really is just a standard basic kind of place. But, everything seems newish and comfortable enough and works. Except for the windows. Even on a high floor, conversations from the street below sounded like they were right outside the window. Amazing acoustics, unfortunately in a bad way. Breakfast lousy and not worth it at any price. Purchased an internet card at desk, failed to get a connection and was reimbursed. At price the Cambridge charges, and unable to deliver an internet access makes this a Hotel that can't be recommended. Car to airport at fair rate, but it stopped on the way and waited and waited to pick up more people. Staff was professional and they seemed to know they had a dud product on their hands. Anyone making their first (and only) trip to Sydney won't want to stay at the Cambridge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear Paubranco,
I would like to thank you for your time spared to comment on your recent stay with us at the Cambridge. I am very disappointed that our level of service and the hotel facilities did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously and we will investigate your raised points. We value guest feedback and is one way we can improve our standards. I hope you will give us the opportunity to provide accommodation for you in the future to show you that we have used your critic constructively.

Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews