We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bayswater Sydney
Ranked #83 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stayed in room 312 on the third floor at the rear of the building. It was quiet and a comfortable room and all we needed for 2 nights. Close to trains, shops and pubs etc. The only minus was the lift, the button for the 3rd floor didn't work sometimes and so was a bit nerve wracking going to every floor other than the one we wanted. Did complain but they couldn't find anything wrong with it and then it happened again.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room at the rear of the building would be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russwendy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear russwendy2015 ,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in Sydney. We do hope the issue with the lift does not stop you staying with us again and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager
The Bayswater Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

As I had business to facilitate in Woolloomooloo I was looking for a good and comfortable hotel within walking distance. This hotel provided very good value and close to where I was working. Helpful staff and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Les988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Les988,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Bayswater Sydney. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time with us, and we will make sure to share your review with all the team. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager
The Bayswater Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Happy with our stay here right in the heart of Kings Cross. No thrills but clean, basic room at about the right price. Kitchen facilities by reception although with the number of eating establishments on your doorstep you won't need it. Friendly and helpful staff.
Would stay here again if I wanted to stay in this part of town.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel this was probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank butham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear butham,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. It is good to read that several aspects of your stay suited you, and it was a pleasure for us to have you here as a guest! We agree that location is great, with plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager
The Bayswater Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Location is great, five minutes away from Kings Cross. Rooms are quite big and well equipped. Big no-no is that wifi is limited (unless booked direct) and no elevator from street to lobby (not convenient with a baby and big luggage). room was located on level 1, 5 meters away from reception and was very noisy in the morning

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jtflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear jtflyer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and comfort of the room. We are sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. The hotel is located in an old heritage building and therefore it was not possible to build the lift all the way from the street but there is an elevator from reception level to the 4th floor. As you have already mentioned the wifi access is unlimited for the guests who book directly with us (among other benefits). We apologise for the noise, ground level gets usually busy in the morning and it is hard to eliminate the noise completely.

We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in future. If you plan to stay in Sydney again please do not hesitate to contact us to get the most suitable room for the best price.

Kind regards,
Guest Relationship Manager
The Bayswater Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Everything was very good. There is no breakfast in the hotel, but there are several nice caffes near the place for taking some morning snacks. Hotel is in walking distance to most popular sites in the city, e.g. opera house, downtown, gardens etc.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank matejk568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at The Bayswater Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear matejk568,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a good stay and very happy that you found the location of the hotel to be suitable for your needs on this occasion. We are fortunate to have the train station 2 minutes away and many attractions in walking distance.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Relationship Manager
The Bayswater Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#55 of 181 in Sydney
810 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#117 of 181 in Sydney
36 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#84 of 181 in Sydney
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#86 of 181 in Sydney
72 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#32 of 181 in Sydney
217 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#140 of 181 in Sydney
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayswater Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayswater Sydney

Address: 17 Bayswater Rd | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Kings Cross
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#25 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: €71 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayswater Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Sydney offers a boutique hotel experience in Kings Cross, just one stop from Circular Quay. Hotel rooms feature premium bedding, a work desk, WiFi access, air-conditioning, large flat screen TV, chic en suite bathroom with amenities and ironing facilities. The Bayswater Sydney also has a 24 hour reception, a guest laundry and a taxi rank at the front door. Public transport is also just one block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bayswater Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayswater Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing