We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very intersting discovery through the layers that have made the city !”

Sydney Architecture Walks
Ranked #49 of 249 Outdoor Activities in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are architects and we want to share our city with you. We organise intimate walking and bicycle tours that are open to the general public. We also arrange private / customised architectural tours and itineraries on request. Taking the form of a series of urban provocations, our conversations are straightforward and jargon-free exercises in story telling. Aimed at the expert-enthusiast, we want you to understand the 'why' of the city whilst exploring the most provocative and daring projects Sydney houses; works of architecture, public art and landscape that inspire and delight but also projects that reveal something of Sydney's grimy pulse. We are interested in ideas and in the drivers of city; the vibrant network of invisible forces - political, cultural, economic and environmental that give the city form. Get stung by architecture. Sydney will never look the same again. We promise!
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This is a quite interesting way to discover Sydney, through the way the city has reached it's current structure, brought to us by a passionate architect, Eoghan, and with a day to day insight to it all, open disucssions and sharing make it a very enriching walk !

Thank maiwennvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thankyou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Sydney Architecture Walks
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Eoghan was fabulous and the tour was an interesting mix of history, politics and, of course, architecture. We thoroughly enjoyed this walk around modern Sydney, even in the pouring rain. We just wish we would've had time to sign up for the Utzon tour too. Highly recommended.

Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, General Manager at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thanks Rachel. Sorry about the rain ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

My wife is an architect. I am not. As such, I am dragged to a ton of projects, lectures and tours that I would probably otherwise ignore. To my surprise, the SAW1 tour was wonderful--engaging, interesting and varied.

Eoghan has been giving these tours for upwards of a decade and it shows. He's personable, knowledgeable and generous. He talks about Sydney's history and how the past has informed the buildings of the present both through building codes and aesthetic and functional design decisions.

The day before we did the SAW1 walk, we took a tour of the Opera House. This walk augments that tour very nicely.

If it's a cold day, you'll want to bundle up because most of the "walk" is standing and listening.

At the end of the tour, Eoghan circled a few other buildings on our map of Sydney to check out while we were in town. If we were staying longer, we'd have loved to go on the other SAW tours as I'm sure they're equally as good.

1  Thank jesseledoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thanks Jesse. Keeping in mind the idea architecture is the great public art, you are the one we're aiming for; conversations architectural to the design-inclined.
Thanks for posting a review.
Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

An absolutely remarkable walk with Utzon. I felt like being taken on a ride through a proof of a beautiful theorem. Thanks!

Disclaimer - I am mathematician by trade.

Thank jstomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017
Google Translation

Thankyou jstomczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

On an icy Autumn day Eoghan led us on the Utzon walk - a wonderful experience with the weather NO deterrent.
I now have a greater understanding of our Opera House right from its inception - and even an appreciation of the part I wasn't fond of - the dark Concourse under the monumental stairs. I can see this in a completely different light.
I am privileged to share Jørn Utzon's vision for what might have been and to look forward to his and Jan's input for the future.The building I have visited many times has greater meaning and I look forward to seeing it in a differently on future visits - thanks to Eoghan's superb input on our walk.
This is my second SAW experience - the first was a very interesting walk through Chippendale. I now have a completely different relationship with that area and enjoy it so much more.
I highly recommend these walks - and thank you Eoghan.

Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thanks so much Gillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Architecture Walks also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Architecture Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing