We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Sydney Architecture Walks
Ranked #49 of 252 Outdoor Activities in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are architects and we want to share our city with you. We organise intimate walking and bicycle tours that are open to the general public. We also arrange private / customised architectural tours and itineraries on request. Taking the form of a series of urban provocations, our conversations are straightforward and jargon-free exercises in story telling. Aimed at the expert-enthusiast, we want you to understand the 'why' of the city whilst exploring the most provocative and daring projects Sydney houses; works of architecture, public art and landscape that inspire and delight but also projects that reveal something of Sydney's grimy pulse. We are interested in ideas and in the drivers of city; the vibrant network of invisible forces - political, cultural, economic and environmental that give the city form. Get stung by architecture. Sydney will never look the same again. We promise!
Reviewed 16 September 2016

An absolutely remarkable walk with Utzon. I felt like being taken on a ride through a proof of a beautiful theorem. Thanks!

Disclaimer - I am mathematician by trade.

Thank jstomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017
Google Translation

Thankyou jstomczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2016

On an icy Autumn day Eoghan led us on the Utzon walk - a wonderful experience with the weather NO deterrent.
I now have a greater understanding of our Opera House right from its inception - and even an appreciation of the part I wasn't fond of - the dark Concourse under the monumental stairs. I can see this in a completely different light.
I am privileged to share Jørn Utzon's vision for what might have been and to look forward to his and Jan's input for the future.The building I have visited many times has greater meaning and I look forward to seeing it in a differently on future visits - thanks to Eoghan's superb input on our walk.
This is my second SAW experience - the first was a very interesting walk through Chippendale. I now have a completely different relationship with that area and enjoy it so much more.
I highly recommend these walks - and thank you Eoghan.

Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thanks so much Gillian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

It is more a standing than walking experience as the tour only covers about three city blocks, with a very knowledgeable guide (a trained architect) giving information about the history, topgraphy, geography and geology of Sydney and the effects it has on the architecture.
Fascinating facts from why buildings are elevated on stilts and have no lower floors and how a building can be made of 110% glass, to council regulations and the meaning of street shapes.
Well worth the time, but prepare your legs for prolonged standing, not walking.

Thank Kyzyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, General Manager at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thanks Kyzyk for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This was a great way to explore Sydney. The tour guide was smart, helpful, and engaging. I highly recommend going on one of these walks!

Thank marieke215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thankyou Marie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I've been on three of these walks and I've learned so much about my home city! The tour guide gave me really in-depth and yet broad information, so I have a much better understanding of why the city is how it is. The style is casual and friendly. Brilliant!

Thank markwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoghan L, Owner at Sydney Architecture Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thankyou Mark. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Architecture Walks also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Architecture Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing