We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality Chinese food under The Residence, Darlinghurst”
Review of Madame Shanghai

Madame Shanghai
Ranked #462 of 6,738 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: US$0 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Darlinghurst
Description: Madame Shanghai is the new Darlinghurst eatery and bar serving Shanghai street food and yum cha. Inside, old school elegance and Chinoiserie décor combine with a playful colour palette of malachite, blues and pinks emulating 1930’s Shanghai. The cocktail area overlooking Hyde Park is reminiscent of a Shanghai garden with lush greenery. The 90 seater is open six days for both dinner and a bar menu as well as yum cha lunch and dinner, Thursday to Sunday. Sydney’s east now has a new Chinese and yum cha destination.
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Madame Shanghai is a very good Chinese restaurant without being outstanding. We went in a group for Yum Cha. Maybe we weren't adventurous and dishes were pretty much the usual for a good Chinese; dumplings were well prepared and presented. Tasty if not taste sensations. Unreasonably, I tend to compare higher quality Chinese yum cha with Dragon Eye in Hong Kong and feel a bit let down. Prices are on the expensive side but not over the top. If you don't want to face the bustle around Dixon Street and are seeking a relaxed lunch looking out to Hyde Park, I'd be happy to recommend Madame Shanghai.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ray_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservations and Events Consultant at Madame Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. A nice relaxing lunch is something that Madame Shanghai is always happy to offer. Our dinner menu does differ quite vastly from our Yum Cha menu so if you ever get the chance, feel free to pop in for dinner and compare the two! Kind Regards, Cassandra Cormier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Very nice staff and good food - with good service , but the place is not a "fine dining ' spot. Maybe more a tourist attraction in a good location. A bit of a shame since it has a great menu and good staff , but many things that just dont add up - especially ambience and style- Try it out yourself.

Thank uschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservation and Events Manager at Madame Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the service and the food at our venue. We would not want to classify ourselves as fine dining, we have have guests visit us to celebrate birthdays, business lunches or a for a causal Yum Cha on the weekend. We hope to welcome to one of our venues on another occasion. Kind Regards, Amy Gamble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Celebrated my daughter’s birthday here and we had their 10 course tasting menu. All dishes taste really good. It’s really worth it. My daughter even had a free dessert. Service is also amazing.

Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservation and Events Manager at Madame Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Good Afternoon Helen, Thank you for much for your review. We are delighted we could help you celebrate your daughters birthday. The tasting menu is a great choice as it takes the hassle our of ordering and you get to try some dishes you might not of tried before. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards, Amy Gamble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

First time here for dinner. A night away from kids and it was great.
The gentleman that served us acknowledged my husbands food allergies and confidently went through what he couldn’t eat which made our decision easier.
We had the beef in broth and spatchcock- very flavoursome. Even the boiled rice was amazing!
Love the decor and set out- open kitchen..
Would be an awesome place for a group dinner as menu is designed to share.
Overall lovely experience and would go back again.

1  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservation and Events Manager at Madame Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your lovely review. Its wonderful to hear you were so looked after on your night out. We pride ourselves on being able to accomodate various dietaries requirements at Madame Shanghai. We have had some great group parties in at our venue as you are right our food is best shared. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Amy Gamble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Madame Shanghai is next to the Pullman Hotel opposite HydePark - a very pleasant location, enhanced on a warm day by the cool breeze that enters via the open window wall. The space seems to attract small groups as well as couples, and was an ideal spot for a business lunch. Service was excellent and the food good, without being exciting. The restaurant has only been open for about six months, but has the feel of somewhere much more established. Recommended for a lunch that would not disappoint.

1  Thank tmg123Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Events and Reservations Consultant at Madame Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your lovely review. The location is one of the best aspects of Madame Shanghai, definitely the perfect venue for a nice business lunch. We are glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Cassandra Cormier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madame Shanghai also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Madame Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing