We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ibis ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Ranked #99 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 17 February 2012

i stayed in few ibis hotel in my life but this one Wow!!! perfect nice room,friendly staff, big rooms, very clean, ipod duck, nice vue on darling harbour( still small windows) but very cosy
the only down side will be the charge on wifi and some tv channel.over all i relly enjoyed my stay there

Room Tip: ake for the the top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrickjamins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie6412, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 785 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed at the Sydney Ibis Kings Wharf in November 2011 on a business trip. The hotel is in an excellent location, just a 30 second walk away from many restaurants on Darling Harbour. The rooms are not very big (but perfectly adequate), and very clean and modern. The bathroom was also perfectly fine. The staff were excellent and all my questions were answered with a smile! I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMWLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie6412, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I chose this hotel due to it being new, good location and reasonably priced. I wasn't disappointed with the location, it's very easy to get around from here, there are buses all around and it's literally a 2 minute walk to the Darling Harbour precint. However, for me that's where the positives stop really.

When I arrived, the guy behind reception was very welcoming and polite, I cannot fault him for that. However what I can fault is how he told me I was "lucky" that they had rooms available when he could not find my internet booking. I had a booking confirmation therefore I get a room. Whether your computer system is "synced" correctly or not is not of my concern and I don't really think it was an appropriate way to address the issue.

He also repeatedly kept asking if it was "just" me for the room. It felt very pointed, and when I got to the room I realised why for there is no possible way that there is a smaller room in that hotel to the one that I was given. I did know going in that the rooms were compact but for someone that is staying more than one night I couldn't understand why you would put them in the smallest room? I have seen pics on their website and not all rooms are that small. There was barely room to put a suitcase down and manouver around with any ease or comfort.

I found the actual room to be quite grubby. For some reason there was always dust on the floor in quite big clumps and I hate this new lazy thing hotels seem to be doing of just putting a sheet over a doona with no cover, it feels very unhygienic to me.
When the room above me used their bathroom, a very high buzzing noise would echo throughout my room at any time of the day or night, at first I thought I was going crazy!! Also my room was right outside a door that was marked 'staff only', which apparently must have been some kind of garbage room as at 7am one morning someone was outside there rustling and crinkling plastic bags to within an inch of their life. Small issues yes, but as a collection they all contributed towards bad nights sleep in this hotel.

Be warned, they do not have room service - if you order any food or drink you have to go down and pick it up yourself!! And if you want to store your luggage after check out they will charge you $7 for the privledge, either that or leave it for free in an unsecured corridor....The whole place just gives the impression that customer service is not their first priority. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SorchaOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie6412, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We have three different room types available at the hotel, perhaps our Superior or Harbour King rooms would be more to your liking.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

On a recent holiday to Australia, we stayed at all Ibis hotels in Adelaide, Melbourne and Sydney. This one spoilt the last leg of the stay. The room was apparently a 'Queen'?Well, I'm glad I didn't bring my cat to swing round....We overlooked the huge office blocks and we could see them and they, us. The window was depressing in size, maybe 2 foot by 6 foot, with no view other than the office workers. The cleanliness was very poor, we were not hoovered for the whole 6 days! The manager was very patronising in manner, although other staff, more friendly.
The only good point is that the location is good for the harbour, but I would advise paying more and staying at Darling harbour.
My advice, if you're staying for one night, okay, more than that, find a park bench...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairycake58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie6412, General Manager at Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We have three different room types available at the hotel, perhaps our Superior or Harbour King rooms would be more to your liking.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns.

Sincerely,

Kellie Stapleton
General Manager
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Melbourne, Australia
11
Reviewed 12 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#133 of 182 in Sydney
2,319 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#117 of 182 in Sydney
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf

Address: 22 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: €91 - €256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened Dec 2008, boasting fresh, modern design, complete with an LCD TV, in room safe, free paytv (Foxtel) broadband and WiFi Internet access, a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal location in the heart of Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing