We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Sydney Central(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$157
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$249
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vulcan Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Sydney Boulevard Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Central Railway Hotel(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
1
3
8
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
3
8
5
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We booked a room here as we arrived in Sydney at 9am and were leaving at 7pm on a night bus, we wanted somewhere to have a shower/sleep/relax! So it was perfect for this! Beds were comfortable, and the shower was hot!!

Only problems were checking in at a different hostel down the road, and carrying our luggage up very steep steps! Would recommend for a short stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank pinksuzie591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The bar was the only place in Sydney that I felt 'real locals' and not toiurists or business workers , were the customers. felt honest adn welcoming for an australian bar. Also did meal deals which were good for Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

First night in the hostel my room mate got bitten all over her shoulders and legs. We had noticed upon arrival that the doona covers had not been changed, but the sheets and pillow case were. When we returned to the hostel the second night, I lay on my bed for ten minutes and immediately noticed that I was starting to get bitten. The bites were itchy, swollen and red, in a lined formation and seemed to be exacerbated by heat. We took photos of the bites to show to the health department. We also took pictures of an actual bug we found nestling in the sheets. There were also cockroaches crawling on the curtains, which were directly next to the beds.

As well as an unhygienic dorm and an insufficient bedding regime, the hostel didn't have any kitchen facilities or internet access. The reception at World Square Hostel did, but that was located on a different street. Showering facilities were mediocre and there was no opportunity to hire towels. Security at reception for luggage was extremely lax. There were no suitcase racks in the rooms, or locked cages for backpacks. We had to leave luggage on the carpet, which was probably infested with bugs as well.

We booked a different hotel that night and reported the situation to reception. The staff member was helpful and allowed us to leave a letter to the manager.

It has been over a week now, and my bites have only just started to heal, but I'll still probably have scarring. The manager reimbursed one night, but I don't think that's good enough. We called the health department. This hostel was repulsive and I highly doubt that this incident will change any of their current cleaning habits.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in a bed without being absolutely certain there are no streaks on the sheets/the doonas have been changed daily.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikerNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here for eight days and it wasn't luxury but it was palace to sleep. It was right above a bar so it could get loud at night epically on the weekends. It was fairly clean and the beds were your standard rickety bunk beds. The upside is that they have free wifi but you have to walk a couple of blocks to access it in their main office. The area is really great, it is right down in world square and if your up for a little walking you can easily walk to the Harbour Bridge, Opera House and the ferries to all the smaller cities around Sydney. Overall it was a good hostel for the money and you can spend a fortune on accommodation in Sydney and at the Strattons you won't!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Have stayed at Stattons Hotel (also affiliated with World Square Hostel around the cnr) and been happy on both occasions.
Rooms were clean and almost quiet, bathrooms the same... as expected, it IS a backpackers' hostel, so come expecting that. Don't arrive expecting 5 star and then pan it... you may have to share the room with someone
I was very pleasantly surprised with the facilities, has a bar down-stairs, it's own recently renovated bistro (cheap eats and a la carte table service) and terrific pub service.
Museum Railway Stn and the main railway station, Central, are both within 5 min walks. George Street is a 2 minute walk. Darling Hrb, The Rocks and Circular Quay, Opera House and Harbour Bridge also are within an easy 15 minute stroll. Bus stops to Bondi and Maroubra beaches are a mimute's walk from the front door. Point being... the location is Strattons' biggest drawcard for me...
The hotel staff are always very helpful with local tourist information and attractions. A couple of bar staff are bi-lingual which is also very helpful.
For a cheaper backpackerish style, but also clean place to stop in central Sydney, this would be my suggestion.

Room Tip: be prepared you may have to share rooms as per most backpacker places
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davelewis21031967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews