We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
160
41
9
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
41
9
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub cobbler venison slaley hall sunday lunch log fire specials board roast potatoes the sticky toffee pudding bite to eat fabulous food an evening meal ate here four poster apple pie beer garden good nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

So we went to the travellers rest for lunch with my parents, Sunday it was so roast was the order of the day... except I did not want roast so I had fish. With my submerged salmon I got 2 roast potatoes and 2 boiled.... yep that's it for ten quid.

The table got veg, 6 types in fact clearly cooked within an inch of their lives and obvious re used during service.

The staff were helpful and it was clean and tidy.

Look out for the certificate of excellence, spelt incorrectly

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank adp1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed over for 1 night and the room was lovely the view was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and the food was amazing lovely stay , we would definitely recommend a stay over the breakfast was lovely cooked fresh and a great selection.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trek640202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

fantastic food, great beer and friendly staff...the fact we have visited twice in a week speaks for itself. If we are ever back in the area we will definately pay another visit. Keep up the hard work.... top quality british pubs like this are becoming a rarity

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent family local pub, good food, friendly with fantastic outdoor play for children. The food is very good with friendly staff and good service. Outdoor play has everything a kid wants. If staying local this is a must.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bantamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We often call at the travellers on a Sunday and just have a couple of drinks. However today we had a drive over and decided to have our lunch which is a rare treat for us. The place was bouncing which was great to see as the last couple of times it's been quiet. Once again Sunday Lunch did not disappoint. Compliments to the chef thanks guys it is always a pleasure to visit the Travellers Rest.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews