We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Extraordinary nature and excellent beaches

I got inspired by the Tripadvisor Top 25 Beaches list and decided to add review of one of my top 25... read more

Reviewed 19 February 2016
ladonovi
,
Tampere
Excellent by bike

Made a nice MTB ride of 25 km in Vilsandi park. Reached Harilaid headland where the final 1 km had... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2015
Jarkko I
,
Espoo, Finland
via mobile
Read all 8 reviews
  
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We visited Harilaid on a cold March day and so we had it to ourselves. We suspect, however, due to its location and the need to have your own transport, that it is never overly crowded.

Once we'd parked our car (no charge) we set off walking across the sandy / stony causeway to Harilaid (you can't take your car). Once on the peninsula we were surrounded by juniper and conifer trees. This part of the walk was quite monotonous and we wished that we had our bikes with us. But once the lake and then the sea came into view, the scenery was much more interesting. The highlight was seeing the 'leaning tower' of a lighthouse which is now strangely out at sea. There's also what looks like a dilapidated military building which gives the place a slightly eery feel.

Our brisk walk to the lighthouse took us about 50 minutes each way. There is a longer 11 km circuit but we didn't have enough time to complete it.

In terms of wildlife, we saw: White-tailed Eagle; Long-tailed Duck; Velvet Scoter; and best of all 100+ of the globally threatened Stellar's Eider, though these are best seen from the opposite side of the bay.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I got inspired by the Tripadvisor Top 25 Beaches list and decided to add review of one of my top 25 list beaches :-) I'v had the pleasure to visit Harilaid regularly past 20 years or so. It's absolutely wonderful place and has now even good road signs to guide you to the spot.

Highlights:

Miles and miles of beach... plenty of room to choose a spot even on a sunny summer afternoon. Fine sand, shallow water, small white pebbles (some with tiny holes. so keep your eyes open). Water can be rather chilly even summer times, but, hey, this is Baltic Sea, not Indian Ocean :-)

Harilaid lighthouse: Example of the mother nature force. The tower was still in 1950's about 100 meters from the sea line and now it's 10-20 meters from the shore, in the sea! Worth the 5 km walk from the parking spot. Bikes are allowed, so no need to walk if you have your bike with you.

Laialepa laht (lake): A lagoon lake on the way to the Harilaid lighthouse. There's a small camping site on the lake side.

Surfing, kayaking, etc... Excellent place for all of these. It will require carrying your equipment for a couple of hundred meters from car, but well worth it. Alternatively with kayaks, you can always use a spot closer to sea, for example at Undva, and paddle the crescent bay all the way to the lighthouse.

There is a parking spot at the foot of the peninsula, equipped with dry toilets, outdoor tables and an info board. Road from Kihelkonna towards Koruse village, where there is road sign when you'll need to turn left to a gravel road leading to Harilaid.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank ladonovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Made a nice MTB ride of 25 km in Vilsandi park. Reached Harilaid headland where the final 1 km had to walk due to soft sand. Excellent beach views and also swimming if the temperature would have tempted for it.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Jarkko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews